1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Home Network Using Electricity Cables

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by RichardB, Jun 13, 2005.

  1. RichardB

    RichardB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi folks, has anyone got any experience of this home networking using your electricity cables malarky?

    BBC Story

    There are some products for sale here:

    Solwise

    It doesn't seem to be prohibitively expensive and other than interfering with shortwave radio there are no major problems that have been encountered with it so far.
     
  2. The Dude

    The Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5,114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,384
    I dont, but I have lots of experience with power over ethernet devices, and they work faultlessly. I cant imagine doing things the other way round will cause any major problems for the designers.. :rolleyes:

    I use Solwise a lot for Wireless Products, they really know what they're talking about.
    If they sell it, I'd say it will definitely work..
     
  3. PAH

    PAH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +63
    The speeds are currently slower than wireless so their niche is really for those that either can't use wireless (have lots of thick walls) or don't want to start messing the house up by laying new cables.
     
  4. sjl

    sjl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have been using a pair of these for over a year

    http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop/ShopDetail.asp?ProductID=1806

    I have a switch in the front room and I connect the Tivo with Cachecard and a Dell MP3 player that I bought off of the for sale board on here.

    Both of the above items run at 10mbps so speed is not an issue for me.

    Been absolutely flawless and were very easy to setup.

    Steve
     
  5. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    I recently installed a 14Mbps for setup at in my sisters house - 3 wallplug ethernet adaptors. Totally painless install, with nothing to configure - just plug 'em in and off you go.

    If you need more bandwidth, 200Mbps products are due very soon now. BroadbandCarrier should have some soon (and they're very good people to deal with).

    Cheers, Carl.
     
  6. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +713
    There are two sides to this. The BBC article was quite correct about interference issues. However PLT (Power Line Transmission) does indeed work.
    Because elecrticity wiring has an undetermine impedance, efficiency will vary ; likewise the incidence of unintended "virtual antennas" and peaks in frequency response is totally unpredictable.
    I am affected by this from 2 conflicting angles :

    1) I work for a company who makes ICs that enable this technology.
    I have to at times give technical support to UK companies designing such systems.
    (Incidentally 2 such companies I was involved with have gone bust in the last 2 years).

    2) I am a radio amateur ( or "radio ham" ) and , therefore, stand to be affected by interference thus caused.

    The Homeplug standard is a USA thing, Europe is supposed to be working on an ETSI standard for it ; PLT is commoner in Germany than in UK (fortunately).

    If you want to read more here are a couple of links :

    http://www.rsgb.org.uk/emc/emcwebsite/index.html#plt

    http://p1k.arrl.org/~ehare/bpl/Guidance_for_field_trials.html

    http://www.homeplug.org/en/index.asp

    Chris Muriel, Manchester
     

Share This Page

Loading...