Home Network Trouble

M

maide66

Hello all
I am very new to this :
Well I just got out of the navy from Sasebo Japan...Did my four years , and now Im done with it finally ! So Im back at mom and dads place ! I went out and bought a 4 port Ethernet Hub ! I am trying to get the internet going into my computer , from my parents computer ! I have comcast cable in miami florida ! I have the cable going into the cable modem of course , and the cable cat 5 cable going into the 4th port hole on the the ethernet hub , and the uplink is on whatever that does ! So I go another short cat5 cable and put it in the 1st port and plugged it into my parents computer in the NIC ! And plugged another cat5 cable into the 2nd port and ran it all the way to my room about 25 feet throught the attic , I have one adapter connecting the two cables cause there both about 12 feet ! I ran all the network wizards , and automatic detect setting , and everything , and unckecked show limited or no connectivity box ! And I have tryed everything , and it still no work ! If anyone can tell me what to do I would be greatly appreciated ! I dont want to call the geek squad and have them come click a button or two , just to pay them 180 dollars ! Any suggestions on what to do ! I also used a floppy disk and installed on both computers the network program that they say at the end of the wizard ! I have restarted a million times and no working still ! The internet works on my parents computer but mine it doesnt work , and It is kinda upsetting ! Thanks for everything !

Sinzer

Distinguished Member
First thing to check on your computer is that there are flashing lights on the NIC. I would suspect that you don't actually have network connectivity between your PC and the router. Also, the router should show a flashing light where your PC is plugged in.

I would try to get one long Cat5 cable, connectors are not usually reliable between cables.