Home Network layout during Renovation...

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by Adam182, Oct 24, 2017.

1. Adam182

Adam182
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone, I'm currently undergoing a full DIY house renovation (back to brick) and am in the process of planning out the home ethernet network/AV.

I will be using cat6 UTP cable throughout, and solid copper Coaxial for Sat/Aerial.

This is the plan I've come up with so far and would love any feedback/ideas/advice.

I'm a complete newbie to this but have been researching like a maniac so please excuse any silly mistakes I might need pulling up on..

[​IMG]

Thankyou, Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

2. maf1970

maf1970

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +301
    For the ethernet network always put in more connections than you will need to each location. This way if anything goes wrong you can just change to another connection. For your switch go for a gigabit one rather than 10/100 as price difference is negligible nowadays.

Any reason for choosing the back bedroom for node zero ? Another common option would be the loft.

BTW like the diagram.

3. ChuckMountain

ChuckMountain

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,249
    Looks good, couple of observations\questions:-

If I add up the satellite connections you have 10? in total. A normal Sky dish can take up to an octo lnb so you either run with that and loose 2 connections or you go with a satellite multiswitch in which case you can use one cable for both aerial and satellite feeds. However with Sky Q it changes things a bit so the same wiring doesn't always work.

+1 for more ethernet connections. If you post in the cables sections or get a mod to move it you may get more responses.