1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Home movie to DVD problem?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by pete1336, Nov 28, 2003.

1. pete1336

pete1336

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    I recently bought a cannon 630 digital camcorder with which I'm using Pinnacle Studio 8 as my editing software. I am an utter newbie at this but I'm learning slowly and enjoying adding music tracks and transitions etc to family footage. I recently tried to burn (using studio 8) some mpeg and avi files to a dvdr. The footage was just over an hour and a half in length. When Studio began rendering it, I was told that it would not fit on the dvdr unless the quality was lowered. I agreed to this (not knowing any better) and the software told me that the quality was only 54%.
    What I want to know is this. Once I've shot my footage and captured it to disk on my computer is it possible at any stage before I try and write it to dvdr to compress it without losing much quality? Isn't this what divx is supposed to be about? If anyone can point me in the direction of a good online tutorial I'd be grateful.
    Many Thanks,
    Pete :hiya:

2. vonhosen

vonhosen

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    Quality of your output is going to depend on a number of things.

Firstly you want your footage to be as clean/high quality as possible.

There are a number of cheap applications out there that will lead all the way through from start to finish (capture, editing, encoding, authoring & burning). Your output is only going to be as good as your weakest link in this process.

Some people (like me) prefer to look for & use different quality applications for each of these processes.