Home Lighting

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by VJDabs, Dec 24, 2011.

  1. VJDabs

    VJDabs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

    I am about to renovate my new house and am in the process of choosing home automation.

    I would like to install it my self but will have an electrician to do all the wiring. I will have the following setup and would like to have scenes in Lounge and kitchen.


    Lounge 1
    1 x Dimmable LED Strip lighting
    1 x Dimmable recessed down lighting

    Lounge 2
    1 x Dimmable LED Strip lighting
    1 x Dimmable recessed down lighting

    Kitchen
    1 x Dimmable recessed down lighting
    1 x LED Strip Cabinet lighting

    Downstairs Hall
    1 x Dimmable recessed down lighting

    Upstairs Hall
    1 x Dimmable recessed down lighting

    Bedroom's
    1 x Dimmable recessed down lighting

    I would like to have 2/3 scenes for the Lounge rooms and Kitchen.

    I have had a look at Lutron Radio RA2 but I think its only available in US, can I get this in the UK?

    Would Rako work? Is it recommended and advisable to use?

    Any better solution?

    I can't afford to send much but which is a downside but would like to be able to add elements in the future.

    Regards

    VJ
     
  2. DIYlady

    DIYlady
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Ascot
    Ratings:
    +1,997
    Rako would work. You can choose to set it up yourself and I found it fairly straight forward. It is also easy to retrofit; if you want to add table lamps, say, to your scenes at a later date, then this is easy to do.

    The wired version of Rako would give you more scenes and flexibility in each room but you may well find the wireless system perfectly adequate
     
  3. Geps

    Geps
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +181
    Do you actually want a home automation system? Or are you just after a sophistication light control system?

    If you want the former, Rako needs to be controlled by something and I'd recommend going with an all in one system such as Idratek or Control4. Judging by the lack of inputs/sensors being mentioned I assume you want the latter in which case Rako will work (along with the previous suggestions as well).
     
  4. VJDabs

    VJDabs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info DIYLady, have you already implemented Rako and how long have you used it for?

    I was looking at full home automation originally with Lutron but its well expensive. Control4 looks good and has adequate wall switches. Can Control4 be self installed?
     
  5. vex

    vex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,905
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London, Home Counties & North West
    Ratings:
    +261
    Crestron Prodigy could also fit your needs.

    Audio, video and lighting control on multiple contollers, iPads and straight buttons.

    V.
     
  6. LightBrigade

    LightBrigade
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +12
    Hi

    Looking at your lighting requirements, I would say that you don't have enough circuits to warrant a cost effective Lutron Homeworks install. Less than about Twenty or so circuits and it is more expensive than, say, Grafik Eye. If you were set on going with Lutron, the Grafik QS is a cost effective unit (up to 6 circuits per controller, built in astronomical clock, able to connect multiple Grafik Eyes in a single system, support for shades and so on). It's still not particularly cheap for some basic on/off and dimming, and there are plenty of other capable products out there, which may be a better fit for your requirements.

    I don't want to put you off, but as a Lutron and Crestron dealer, its at the top end in functionality and price, and there are plenty of systems out there worth looking at that may be more affordable - Dynalite, Mode, iLight, Rako, Clipsal (now Schneider), Futronix for starters

    Have a think about what you want to achieve, both in standalone lighting control and as part of an integrated solution (multiroom, home cinema etc.) and look at some of the features of the different systems.

    It is difficult to price something if you don't fully understand the architecture, but there are people on this board that can give you a pretty good idea. Clearly Rako is a popular system here - its not as cheap as you might think, but it is something you can do yourself and you will get help, which is worth a lot.

    I don't feel I have been overly helpful, but thought I should say something anyway.

    Best of Luck
     
  7. DIYlady

    DIYlady
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Ascot
    Ratings:
    +1,997
    Installed the first room 3 years ago. Gradually added more rooms and functionality over time.
     
  8. VJDabs

    VJDabs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    After much thought I have decided to go the Rako route. Thanks for tha advice all!

    I have a couple of questions:

    1. Is the use of RAK4 units recommended?
    2. I am going to install LED cove lighting which is dimmable what will I need to it hooked up to the RAK4 module? I know the LED strips require a Dimmable LED Driver, 0-10v Dimmer and LED Strip. Am i correct in saying that the RAK4 acts as the LED Driver and I will need to buy a Rako wireless Dimmer?

    Thanks

    VJ
     
  9. schford

    schford
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +33
    1 - Not for retrofitting as you will have to rip out all the existing lighting rings and replace with wiring back to central point.
    2 - I would install RDT500s which negates the above and controls dimmable LEDs plus most other lights (not dimmable CFLs)

    Stuart
     
  10. DIYlady

    DIYlady
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Ascot
    Ratings:
    +1,997
    As above I would agree that rak4s are not really aimed at retrofit

    For you led lights use an RLED. These are a combined driver and dimmer that come in constant current and constant voltage versions. Use the one that is appropriate for your set up. You will also need a power supply unit. So lighting feed goes into PSU then into RLED then to LED light
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice