Home Gym Advice

Reaction score
I am nearing 40 and my physical health has been declining! I have 3 young children and have spent the last 8 years failing to get to the gym, and paying for the privilege. I have accepted that I cannot leave the house, and so I am slowly building a home gym in my garden shed. It is working, as I am able to take the baby monitor out there with me and can exercise whilst being around if the kids wake up. I have limited ceiling height which means I can't get a huge multigym or pullup bar in there, so I am looking for advice on what to buy. I currently have a rower, treadmill, and turbo trainer bike. I have space for one more machine/bench/multigym(small) - I think a weights bench of some sort would be best(?) and want to maximize what I get from the space. The ceiling is on a slant from 1.9m at the lowest to 2.1m at the highest. I am pretty new to any sort of weight lifting (I have previously always played cardio sports, so I looking to get started with a bit of weight lifting but mainly for full body strengthening and health, not for 'bodybuilding' (hope that makes sense).

So my question is... bearing in mind the height restriction that I have, what weights bench or multigym would you recommend I get?

For starters, get a good adjustable bench. Not the flimsy argos types, something that will hold you and a good amount of weight. Bonus points if it has decline, but incline is a must.

A good set of solid dumbbells, spinlock or collars is fine. Plenty of iron weights, enough to load each dumbbell between 40-50kg.

You can pretty much tackle your entire body with a set up like this and it will hold it's value being iron.

Thanks. What about adjustable dumbbells (thinking of the space saving) I will get decent quality, I'm happy to spend on good quality

Thanks. What about adjustable dumbbells (thinking of the space saving) I will get decent quality, I'm happy to spend on good quality