1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Home Entertainment System, from scratch

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by j.moghisi, Apr 11, 2005.

1. j.moghisi

j.moghisi
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

I am new to the whole arena of Home Entertainment, and I just wanted some good advice.

I'm looking for a Panasonic TH42PW7. Firstly any cheap places you know of to get this?

Now for the more important matters...Should I get this with the scart terminal board or the JS Scart to VGA converter, bearing in mind i would like to connect my PC to this display from time to time as well? Is there a large difference in picture quality? I want to connect my Digital Satellite Receiver and my FreeView box to this.

I also have a VCR and a KISS DivX DVD Player (with component output and progressive scan). Should I also connect the VCR via the scart adapter or what? Would it be best to get rid of the VCR as a whole?? The DVD player...I want to connect it to the Plasma with component as I have read this is best, but which board(s) do I require for the screen? Does it have to be RCA or BNC, and which is better? The connectors on the DVD player for component video look like RCA plugs but I am not sure?! Can you supply a link showing the difference?

Finally, I am getting an AV Receiver with a set of speakers. It accepts the digital inputs from the DVD Player, but how would I have to connect everything else. Would I need a stereo cable from each other device or just the Plasma screen? Does the plasma screen even have an Audio Output anyway?!?! Moreover, the Receiver claims to have 4 video inputs and also s-video inputs. What are these for? Does it mean I could connect the video outputs to the Plasma Screen, and all the inputs to my DVD and VCR?!?!?!

The products I am wishing to get are as follows:

Panasonic TH42PW7