home cinema system

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by PAULRYAN52, Oct 11, 2018.

  1. PAULRYAN52

    PAULRYAN52
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi, I'm after a surround sound system and I've looked at Soundbars but would prefer proper surround sound, must have wireless rear speakers as I don't want wires all over my bedroom, preferable a wireless sub if possible, budget £700-800
     
  2. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,257
    'Wireless' Loudspeakers for the most part are Mains powered so whilst you don't then require Loudspeaker cable to the Surrounds you do require a Mains socket close by - not many rooms have Mains sockets where you would want to position a Surround Loudspeaker.

    One option would be to omit Surrounds and concentrate your budget on the Front of the room.

    Joe
     
  3. PAULRYAN52

    PAULRYAN52
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    I've got sockets where they would go
     
  4. PAULRYAN52

    PAULRYAN52
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    if I forget the rears what would you recommend
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,257
    Post up a Layout plan and or some pics of the room - ideally you match your Loudspeakers to the Room.

    As Loudspeakers can tend to live with you for a long time you have to decide if you go for something which is a great match with the current room or something which will work in a different space if you plan to move in the near future.

    Joe
     
  6. PAULRYAN52

    PAULRYAN52
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    ok will do
     
  7. PAULRYAN52

    PAULRYAN52
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    it's not accurate but hopefully it helps [​IMG]
     
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,257
    Layout - I would go with a 2.0 or 2.1 system.

    Amp - you could either go with a Stereo Amp with Digital Input and use the TV as your HDMI Hub or use an AVR and use that as the HDMI Hub.

    Speakers - tall narrow ‘full range’ floor standing could work or Stand mounted limited range. Bookshelf look like they could be problematic as the asymmetric TV Stand may not have space for a Speaker to the right of the TV.

    TV Stand - do you have a pic with the TV in place?

    Joe
     
  9. PAULRYAN52

    PAULRYAN52
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    sure
     
  10. PAULRYAN52

    PAULRYAN52
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,257
    Bookcase - is not ideal as a Loudspeaker support though if you sit a Bookshelf style Loudspeaker cabinet on some isolation block it ought to work OK. With a bit or rearrangement you should be able to accommodate a Front LR at a suitable height (your seated ear level) on your Bookcase.

    Options I would consider are HiFi Amp (with Digital Input/Sub Out) vs. AVR (assuming long term you feel Surround Sound is important) and then I would consider a 2.0 or 2.1 Speaker system.

    Personally I tend to keep things simple and focus my budget on the basic requirement (the Front sound stage) so a HiFi Amp (with Digital Input) plus a pair of Bookshelf Speakers would work best for me.

    Joe
     
  12. PAULRYAN52

    PAULRYAN52
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    could I place the fr & fl on top of the tv unit with the centre by the tv
     
  13. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,257
    Front LR - only if you plan to be standing up when listening to Music/viewing the TV :)

    You could aim/angle the speakers downwards but why compromise when you have the option of setting them at the correct height in a straight ahead setup.

    Centre - is not required when your Loudspeakers are grouped so tightly around a TV, often it can cause dialogue to be muddled when it is so close to the Front LR,

    Having a Front LCR setup at different heights is another compromise you don’t require.

    Keep the system simple - work with the space and optimise your spend on just the channels you require in your space.

    Joe
     
  14. PAULRYAN52

    PAULRYAN52
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    so what would you recommend,
     
  15. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,257
    Amp - we have used the Yamaha A-S501 and A-S301 on a few systems where the TV has been used as the HDMI Hub of a Music/Movies system, A-S501 - Overview - Yamaha - UK and Ireland

    Loudspeakers - ideally you would go have a look/listen to a few options which will sit on a cabinet.

    Joe
     
  16. PAULRYAN52

    PAULRYAN52
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    what about lip sync issues
     
  17. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,257
    'what about lip sync issues' - if it becomes an issue you can add in a digital delay between the TV and the Amp, we haven't found it to be an issue.

    Joe
     
  18. PAULRYAN52

    PAULRYAN52
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    thanks though the shop where I will purchase from doesn't sell that amp
     
  19. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,257
    Easy enough for them to get hold of one or possibly suggest an option they do stock.

    Joe
     
  20. PAULRYAN52

    PAULRYAN52
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    is a sub needed
     
  21. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,257
    Not necessarily - we/I have installed hundreds of HiFi and AV systems over the years which did not use a Sub.

    When working to a budget I would try to put my spend in to as few items as possible - that would not preclude adding a Sub at a later date!

    Joe
     
  22. PAULRYAN52

    PAULRYAN52
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    ok so if I ggo amp & speakers, how do Ii adjust tv volume
     
  23. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,257
    The Vol of all Sources is controlled on the Amp - some TV’s will allow you to adjust the signal being sent to the Amp using the TV Remote controller

    Otherwise the TV or Amp Remote May be able to learn commands from another device, you use a Programmabel Remote (Harmony) or you use an App based Remote.

    Failing all of that you juggle remotes :)

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice