• Welcome to AVForums running Xenforo 2.2. The upgrade from 2.1 was successful and finished in just 90 minutes. We're still rebuilding the database indexes, so searches won't be reliable for a few hours, but we feel it's more important to bring the forums back online. The most notable changes in 2.2 are listed in this post. Thank you for your patience.

Home Cinema System For My Philips 32PFL7562 LCD

madmak16

Standard Member
Evening,

I am a newbie so please be patient, but all help is greatly appreciated!!

I am looking at a new home cinema system that will need to connect to:

SKY+HD
PS3
PC
(DVD player incorporated in Home Cinema)

I have heard the easiest way is to have an optical out from my TV to the Home Cinema, then everything plugged into the TV will go through the Home cinema.
Trouble is, there is only a coaxial digital out, I believe.
Can I use a converter from coaxial digital out to optical in the Home cinema system to achieve the same effect (Pros/Cons??)

The TV has 2 HDMI outputs, component outputs, audio outputs scarts etc etc.

Any help/suggestions on the best Home Cinema systems would be greatly appreciated, and/or what I need to get the lot working!

A bonus would be a USB dock for my Iphone, or bluetooth receiver.

Many thanks

Mark

davepuma

Distinguished Member
Welcome to AVF. As you have multiple sources, an all-in-one system is not ideal as they lack inputs and have a built-in DVD player which you don't need or will use. You have a PS3 which has bluray and is a more than capable upscaling SD DVD player too.