Home Cinema or Home Pretender?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by BadAss, Feb 22, 2001.

1. BadAss

BadAss
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +182
    Ive been building my home cinema for over five years but wondered how much longer will it take to reach Cinema standards.

------------------
    Is he the one?

2. Arthur.S

Arthur.S

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. BadAss

BadAss
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +182
    Ive got:-

Yamaha 3090 amp
    Kef Model 2 Fronts
    Kef 200c centre
    Polk surrounds and effects
    Rel Strata II Sub
    Pioneer 925 LD player
    Pioneer 737 DVD

Saving up for Projector.

I recently went to the Cinema to watch Hanibal on a THX screen and I have to say the sound was spot on. So I still have some way to go on sound. Picture wise, without a projector theres no contest.

My question, how much would I have to spend on a projector to get anywhere near Cinema quality? Im thinking of getting the Barco 708 second hand. How would this stand up or should I wait longer?

------------------
    Is he the one?

4. Mr.D

Mr.D

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    About 300grand for a theatre grade DLP projector. Then you need 200grand worth of disc arrays and DTF tape drives to get the 1K res material for an entire film. Then software is a real bitch.

My advice is if you have the money now and want to buy now go get it now.

5. StephenR

StephenR
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    In my opinion even a mid-range home cinema can be much better than a real cinema. Take the audio - almost all the cinemas I have been too don't sound as good a home system. They don't have it loud enough for a start. The exception would be the Odeon Leicester Square.