1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Home Cinema Help req'd

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Ianjo, May 19, 2003.

1. Ianjo

Ianjo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    As you can see I am a newbie here & despite reading many of the threads & purchasing various magazines, visiting shops both locally & in London where I work, I remain confused.

I have a 32" Toshiba ZD09 & Toshiba SD210E DVD + Sky & a Video (Aiwa 6 head Nicam - nothing special). I am keen on buying a speaker/subwoofer set up but my maximum budget is only £500 as 2 children prevent me from spending any more. My room is rectangular with the room being approx 20ft long by 10ft wide. The make up of the room means the TV etc is located in the middle of the length (i,e about 10ft in) with the seating directly opposite about 7 ft away.

My question is what sort of set up should I go for - I realise my budget isn't enormous but I believe I can still obtain a reasonable set up which will enhance my viewing/listening pleasure. I was advised to get the Yamaha HTIB45 package (I think it cleared the box from their shelves) but having looked into it further I'm not sure if this is a good idea. Does anyone have any advice they can impart to a thoroughly confused person who wishes to get started with Home Cinema.

Cheers & thanks in advance

Ian:confused:

2. Andywilliams

Andywilliams

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +63
    Ian could you be more specific about speaker size does it matter to you how big they are.