! Home Cinema Heaven DVD Upgrade ?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by rob j, Aug 12, 2002.

  1. rob j

    rob j
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +21
    Hello everyone.

    Today I had my Toshiba 210 upgraded from www.homecinemaheaven.com.

    I took it in to the store to be modded but because I'm still waiting for a R1 RCE disc to come (resident evil) I'm not sure if it works OK yet.

    I was wondering whether anybody has had or knows anyone with any experience with Home Cinema Heaven?

    Have I spent my money wisely or not??!!

    Any feedback would be great!
     
  2. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,032
    VERY highly thought of over at the DVD Forums.
     
  3. JaseyJay

    JaseyJay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    IMO you have wasted your money, Resident Evil is toilet :D !
     
  4. rob j

    rob j
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +21
    Ok - the RCE disc came this morning, so I popped it in my player.

    PROBLEMS - the picture is in black and white!!

    All the features on the disc seem to work OK, I have no problems with the warning region map, and the features of my Tosh 210 seem to be working fine

    - except the output is in black and white

    when I eject the disc and close the player back up, the picture output is still in black and white!!

    Has anyone had problems with black & white outputs??
    I'm guessing it's got to do with the Multiregion Mod, as on the site it says they do not "chip" the player. But also on the site it says that there will be no loss of features such as RGB output.

    If anybody can give me any assistance on this matter it would make my day!!
     
  5. rob j

    rob j
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +21
    here's what they say on their website:

    "We are able to offer a complete multiregion fitting service, via our EXCEL-SPRINTER software multiregion upgrade. We were the first company in the UK to offer a software upgrade for Pioneer and Toshiba models, back in March 1999. Although now often imitated by some cheaper, inferior mods, by opting for our SPRINTER upgrade, you can be assured of the optimum solution for your DVD player, backed up by our unrivaled 5 years of DVD modification experiance. No chip, soldering, or loss of player features (such as RGB out or MP3 playback) GUARANTEED!"


    So why is the output in black and white!!!
     
  6. Rambo John J

    Rambo John J
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,731
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hanoi Hilton
    Ratings:
    +961
    Resident Evil isn't actually RCE.

    Have you checked that the set-up on both the player and TV are the same - RGB-RGB or Svid-Svid etc? (sounds dumb, but I've overlooked it myself before now:blush: )
     
  7. rob j

    rob j
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +21
    Thanks man - thats done the trick. From the look of things, I think the telewest bloke swapped a few of leads about in my setup when he came to replace our faulty box, which only gave us an RGB output from the set-top box - not the dvd player aswell.

    Cheers Man!!

    P.S - Are you sure R1 Resident Evil isn't RCE - because I read that Cloumbia/sony has started putting RCE in to discs. Also, on the sites that I looked at - www.play.com, www.cd-wow.co.uk, it said that it was.
     
  8. Rambo John J

    Rambo John J
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,731
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hanoi Hilton
    Ratings:
    +961
    Glad that's sorted:)

    Short version is that CT only RCE their own films. RE was made by an independent company/companies and only uses Columbia as a distributor in the US, therefore CT don't have their worldwide sales to consider as the film is sold by different distributors in the rest of the world.

    Play etc list all Columbia Tristar discs as RCE as nobody really knows which discs will/won't be until they're released. Not that very many are anyway.
     
  9. rob j

    rob j
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +21
    Ok - thanks for clearing that up
     

Share This Page

Loading...