Home Cinema Edit Suite - Looking For Advice

ckyphil

Novice Member
Hi there,

Long time lurker, first time poster, (I think)... But my time has come.
My family and I are currently living in a rental while the builders extend our semi-detached home.
As part of the this, the garage is being converted into my long awaited home edit suite/cinema.

I'm a TV/Film editor/director by trade and am looking to essentially turn this room into an edit suite with a projector and screen instead of a TV.

The plans are below. Length is 5m, width is 2.7m (not the widest, I know)
Screen Shot 2021-05-28 at 15.43.55.png

Ignore the furniture and layout as that was done by the architect.

I want to have my edit desk and computers in the recess to the left. And then an L shaped sofa facing the far right wall which will have a 106 inch projector screen. The idea being I can edit as normal, and on occasion spin my chair around and watch my cuts on a big screen. The cinema will also be used for normal film/TV watching.

I feel like a 5.1.2 system would be adequate for the room.

Now, what I would like to know from the AVForums hive mind is basically... tell me what I don't know.
Throw distance? should i be looking at a certain kind of projector?
Speaker placement... I don't think behind the screen is an option so what's my best bet for speaker placement.

The room behind it isn't a WC, it's in fact a utility room. Should I think about putting rack based equipment in there.

If this was your build, what would you be giving some extra thought to?

We are 6 weeks in to the build so a fair few months before the room starts to get installed but I want to plan everything out. I promise to keep everyone with build updates if I can continue to pick your brains.

Thanks!!

Harkon321

Sound proofing. What are your aims/expectations.