home cinema connection to mobo sound

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by roryLCD, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. roryLCD

    roryLCD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just built myself a media centre pc. I am on a budget so would like to use the onboard sound to connect to my home cinema amp. My onboard sound has 3 connectors; one blue, one yellow, and one red. They look like 3.5mm jacks.

    It can be seen here http://www.asus.com/products4.aspx?l1=3&l2=101&l3=0&model=1138&modelme nu=1

    There is a photo of the connectors at the bottom to clear matters up

    Now I want to connect to my amp which has optical and phono in, and I want the best sound that’s possible. Are any of these connectors digital so I could use an optical-in on the amp, or would I be better off buying a separate sound card with an SPDIF connector.

    Anyone that can point me in the right direction, or find a guide to home cinema with a media centre pc, I would really appreciate it.

    Cheers
     
  2. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,472
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,365
    What home cinema amp do you have? Make/Model?
     
  3. roryLCD

    roryLCD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i am looking into getting the denon 1907, or 1708 this weekend

    i have heard of 3.5mm to toslink cables, but dunno if my onboard sound has digital out??

    if not can anyone recommend a good cheap pci sound card that would be suitable?
     
  4. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,472
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,365
    As you are getting a REAL AV amp and not some all-in-one you have many options.
    1, Connect using 3 X 3.5mm to twin phono plugs (they look like this http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=31700&criteria=3.5mm&doy=10m1 ) from your onboard sound card to the AV amp 5.1 direct in, I prefer this method as it gives 5.1 for everything from the PC then go into your sound settings change the output to 5.1, use the test tones to check you have connected the cables the right way round see page 1-28 of your manual.
    2, Buy (if you can find) the item shown on page 1-32 of your manual http://dlsvr02.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/socketAM2/M2NPV-VM/e2806_m2npv-vm.pdf to give you optical out from the PC, I do not prefer this method as games/hard drive held movies in 5.1 will not output in 5.1 over a digital link from a PC as the PC does not have a Dolby encoder built in. DVD's from your DVD drive will give 5.1.
    3, For better sound quality get something like this http://www.ebuyer.com/product/129740 and use as described in 1.
    To install go into Bios and disable your onboard audio, then uninstall all audio drivers (may need re-boot first), power down PC, install Creative card and software.

    When looking for cables 3.5mm to twin phono just make sure the 3.5mm phonos are not too fat as they will not sit side by side at the back of your PC when plugged in.
     
  5. roryLCD

    roryLCD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers for the comprehansive reply....much appreciated

    so if i use leads are there 6 (3 x pairs) of phones to connect to on the amp, so i go from 3 3.5mm's to the 6 phonos, what are the channels out of interest??

    i understand what you mean about optical out, just thought it may give a better quality?

    hopefully have this all up and running by the weekend, off amp shopping, budget around £250 for a AV receiver (pref silver)

    suggestions, yamaha 361 is nice but doesnt have hdmi switching, and this may be usefull for me
     
  6. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,472
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,365
    Yes you will end up with 3 3.5mm jacks at one end, 6x phonos at the other.
    Your instructions on the M/Board show
    Front left/Right
    Rear Left/Right
    Bass = SUB and Centre
    These will plug into the corresponding inputs on the AV amp.
    If you want a AV amp with muscle look no further than http://www.richersounds.co.uk/showproduct.php?cda=showproduct&pid=CAMB-540R-V2-SIL it has a 615 watt power supply and will guarantee 100watts into 5.1 ALL channels driven, most other amps at this price range will have about 200-250watt power supplies.
    Others to consider http://www.richersounds.co.uk/showproduct.php?cda=showproduct&pid=CAMB-340R-SIL HDMI but nowhere near as powerful, still will rock the place though.
    See manual for connections http://www.cambridgeaudio.com/assets/documents/AP191181AAzur540RV2UsersManual.pdf page 10 item 17 ignore SB surround back as this is for 6.1
     
  7. roryLCD

    roryLCD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i hadnt really considered the cambridge audio range of amps as i have had owned both yamaha and denon before.

    i think they look a little 'cheap' but sdaying that they will match the antec fusion case i have for my media pc quite nicely.

    hmmmmm decisions decisions. its a shame richer dont stock a yamaha or denon HDMi comptible amp within my budget??
     
  8. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,472
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,365
  9. roryLCD

    roryLCD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i'd better get down to richer sounds and have a look at that cambridge audio amp then......:smashin:

    seems like it might be the right one for this setup
     

Share This Page

Loading...