home cinema cables...help please!

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Mark P, Mar 1, 2001.

1. Mark P

Mark P

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    This post goes out to anyone who has some knowledge and experience of home cinema setup. I'm fairly new to home cinema, but i soon got the bug for it. i've had my widescreen tv for a couple of years, and after a lot of testing i have ordered my first 'Reciever'. I've ordered the gold version of the Denon 2801. This will be delivered in 10 days but i want to get prepared for it. Here is where i could do with some help.
    " i'm not quiet sure what types of CABLES i need to buy to connect my reciever up. I have a : tosh 32" tv - 3scarts/svideo/audio R/L OUT.
    : tosh DVD - SVideo/scart/audio R/L OUT/opt/cox digital outputs.
    : JVC VCR - 2 scarts/audio R/L OUT
    : Sky digital
    I would be very grateful if anybody could point me in the right direction on which cables i need to buy, and answer questions such as 'does my tv have to connect to the reciever and like wise my sky digi box.' I've got a feeling its going to cost me a fortune in new cables? am i correct.What i do know is my reciever has s**t loads of connections on the back. Hopefully all you home cinema lovers out there can answer my questions and tell me what i require.i know there are some very knowlegable people out there..................
    look foward to any replys with great anticipation.
    mark p

2. Guest

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have video and sky connected to tv via scart then the tv stereo output will feed the sound from these to the amp thus only needing one set of quality RCA leads. Connect the DVD to the digital input of the amp, coaxial the best. You can buy seperate sets of leads later if you wish, but gains might be minimal.

3. slingshot

slingshot

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +32