1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Home cinema advice : Which speakers to go for ?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by rookie_wookie, Dec 19, 2004.

1. rookie_wookie

rookie_wookie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I'm a newbie on the home cinema scene, and have decided to take the plunge into building (?) my own system. However, as expected, I am completely confused about what to buy, and was hoping I'd could get some tips on what to go for.

My budget is ~ 650-700£, including the speakers and receiver but excluding the TV ( I have a sony 28" widescreen). The room is 15 feet * 11 feet, with glass french windows right behind the TV (and therefore the future front and center speakers - Will this affect the sound ?).

I listen to lots of music CD's, ranging from Pink Floyd to Indian classical, so the front speakers must be good for music reproduction.

The hifistore has a Mission M34 package (consisting of M34 fronts, m34 - m3C2 center and m3DS rears) for £465, and I was thinking of picking up a Sony STR-DB790 AV receiver for 236.84£ from QED.

What do you guys think ? Is this a good setup, or should I look at other systems ? Any suggestions and comments will be appreciated.

Thanks,

A very confused Wookie

2. Tejstar

Tejstar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +990
    Welcome to the forums :thumbsup:

The setup you suggested sounds good. Are you looking for floorstanders or sub/set systems?

If music is important to you then the Sony amp would be a good start. Also think about the Wharfedale Diamond 9 HCP range which retails for £500!

3. rookie_wookie

rookie_wookie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Tejstar.