1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Home cinema advice pls!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by backtothefuture, Aug 14, 2002.

1. backtothefuture

backtothefuture

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi guys , I'm a nOOb to all this home-cinema stuff (though I do love watching movies!) ..

right now I got a Toshiba 28 WS tv and a Samsung DVD-511 (region free) which I got free with it a couple of years ago from this comany intersaver.co.uk (which went bust soon after these promotions as some of you may recall) ...

I'm now looking to build/acquire a budget 5.1 speaker/amp system and have an absolute MAX of £500 to play with . Hence I'd be looking for value for money and a decent system that I could enjoy 5.1 with for at least a couple of years before I go towards mid/high range.

any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

cheers

Naveed

:D

PS what do you guys think of the Videologic DTS system ?
    and this ?

2. Philip Newton

Philip Newton

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have mission cinema 6 pack and they have had 4 star reviews in what hi fi i picked them up for 199.99 that would leave you 300 pounds to get an amp with. Richer sounds would be the place to try as you should get a decent amp for that money I have a sony str475 which I find ok but not had very good reviews I don't mind too much, The Yamaha? amps are getting good reviews the other thing to try is the AEG all in one system which What Hi Fi magazine rave about. Buy this months issue and they have an excellent buyers guide, Hope this helps Phil
    One other thing DTS is a must!!

3. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Why