• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Home Automation where to start?

Antexter

Standard Member
So basically I'm a huge fan of automating the home, currently though funds are limited.

What I'm hoping to get is ideally a system I can customise easily, maybe even go to the extent of making a web interface for controlling lights etc as I am a web developer.

Now from what I have seen x10 seems a good place to start but am I able to make a web interface easily?
If so is their a alternative?

If not where do i start with x10 what should i buy what would you class as essential, personally I'm lost in what i should get 1st.

Thanks.

chrisatapple

Standard Member
Hi Antexter

I'm a little new to Home Automation too. There is a fair amount of stuff available. I'm not too sure about connection via PC/MAC etc. However, I know that CH Byrons Home Easy range can be controlled via SMS messages. They can be used to control lighting, heating, cooling etc.

Hope this helps.

Chris

eyepete

Automated Home - Home is probably a very good starting point from a novice pov. Their forums are full of helpful people who can advise on the most cost effective way to get started - as well as give you the low down on what's hot and what's not.

Pete

mikeinmk

Hi Antexter

I'm a little new to Home Automation too. There is a fair amount of stuff available. I'm not too sure about connection via PC/MAC etc. However, I know that CH Byrons Home Easy range can be controlled via SMS messages. They can be used to control lighting, heating, cooling etc.

Hope this helps.

Chris