1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Home Automation/Distribution and HDTV

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by loz, Feb 15, 2005.

  1. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,796
    Wasn't sure which topic to put this in but...

    How does HDTV impact the Home Automation and multi-room distribution market and technology?

    There's going to be some impact with HDCP, but apart from copyright protection issues, how is the technology up to distributing HD signals?

    Looking through a mag at the weekend with lots of mega buck installs, it was interesting to note that no mention was made of HD, and very little of the equipment used was HD.

    Though this might not be surprising given the availability of HD material in the UK, I couldn't help thinking that here were people laying down 10's of thousands of pounds for installations that were not-HD compatible. Whilst they won't be obscelete as such, at the same time I would have thought that people spending this sort of money would want to be at the forefront of technology and quality.

    Obviously they can upgrade a panel or projector, and a DVD player at the appropriate time, but what about the distribution mechanisms for multi room. How will they cope?
     
  2. HEADRAT

    HEADRAT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +9
    802.11N will provider more than enough bandwidth for HD, throughput of 200+ Meg is being talked about. Even with a Belkin Pre-N (pre ratification) I'm able to get around 40 Meg out of my Belin Pre-N wilress network, even with other 802.11b/g network around my house.

    I'm able to record around a 4/5 Meg streams from my MCE2005 directly to my 800 Gig NAS upstairs, I'm also able to view DVD's that have been backed up to the NAS over the wireless network at the same time. My NAS then becomes my AV server, I can view DVD's, listen to music, view recorded TV from any room in the house using an Xbox and a wireless G bridge.

    Or with a "Media Extender" you can even watch live TV etc, I don't think they are currently avaiable in the UK though ;)

    Cheers

    HEADRAT
     
  3. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,796
    What about non-computer networked based systems though?
    That distribue video/audio and control signals.

    Computer may well be the way it goes though - wired or wireless.
    How many megs is a pukka HD stream? the 4/5meg you mention?
     
  4. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    Standard Def MPEG2 - as broadcast in the UK - ranges from 2-6 Mbs.

    High Def MPEG2 - as broadcast in the US and via EuroHD - ranges from about 10Mbs to 30+Mbs.

    MPEG4 will probably provide decent HD starting at around 8Mbs.

    I can reliably stream SD MPEG2 around my home using 11g wireless stuff, however I can't stream HD MPEG2 (18Mbs) to watch Euro1080 recordings via the same route. I have to copy the files prior to watching.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    well it all comes down CT100 from LNB to reciever......................
     
  6. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,796
    yes...

    But do you have something to encode HD and route it around the house via coax?
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    me personally no but why not put a box in every room? distributed system even SD are complex and expensive!!!
     
  8. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,796
    Are you refering to Sky HD?

    I wasn't.

    Well I would include sky as a source of course.

    I was more thinking of people using expensive Servers with DVD ripped to disk, expensive AV amps pipping AV to multi rooms, etc, Things like that.
    With some central control unit - with controls in each room
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I'm not box could be an STB (any type) or HD DVD blu ray player........perhaps the question should be why a distributed system?
     
  10. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,796
    I agree.

    Hence my opening question about the validity of people laying out significant sums for home installations that are potentially redundant when HD comes along
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    true but there are only 2 reasons why you spend loads on a fully distributed system.....................Being really POSH/One up manship AND minimalism, if it doesnt work with HD doesnt mean the system isnt any good tho.............
     
  12. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    The ideal way would be to to send the comperessed data around the house on a wireless network or a wired one(lan/mains even) then at each remote location have a suitable hed unit with the appropriate decoder in it. This is already easily achievable for MPEG2 stuff. I'd imagine that it wont be too long before it's also acheivable for MPEG4/VC1. The issues are going to be how you do this with encrypted material.

    Gordon
     
  13. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,796
    Dealing with encrypted/protected material when using a computer-oriented approach isn't going to be a problem, as Microsoft (for example) will deal with that in the head-units - Microsoft are very keen to provide an effective DRM solution so that content producers see Windows as a suitable delivery platform.
     

Share This Page

Loading...