Answered Home audio starter help

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by TheSmokeyWhojar, Apr 18, 2016.

Tags:
  1. TheSmokeyWhojar

    TheSmokeyWhojar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello guys, I'm new to this site and home audio but I've used forums and I was into car audio heavily a few years back so I do have a little knowledge in this league.

    I'm renovating my front room so I'm wanting to buy a new audio system for it. I've recently just bought a new TV for he room also. Anyway the question is im after a bit of advice of what to buy with my budget. The propose of the system is mainly to listen to music but I will watch the odd film now and then. The TV I've bought is a "UE48JU6000KXXU 48 inch Smart 4K Ultra HD LED TV" and the budget for the audio I have is £5/600.

    What would you lot recommend for my needs? Thanks
     
  2. Don Dadda

    Don Dadda
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,571
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +715
    Hi

    What will you be your music source(s)?
    Is the budget for the entire setup? Amp, speakers, cd, etc.
    Are you after surround sound or a simple stereo setup?
     
  3. TheSmokeyWhojar

    TheSmokeyWhojar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for your reply.

    My music source will be from my phone via aux/phono/bluetooth (is this fees able?

    I'm not that bothered about surround sound. I was thinking a couple speakers and a sub?

    I've been looking at this set up? Would it work?

    Amplier: Yamaha AS501
    A-S501 - Yamaha - UK and Ireland

    Speakers: Monitor Audio bronze 2
    Richer Sounds

    For the subwoofer: BK Gemini2
    Gemini

    Thanks
     
  4. Don Dadda

    Don Dadda
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,571
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +715
    That would work nicely but if you could up the budget a bit for the Yamaha RN602, you will get more or less the same amp but with Internet radio, streaming from a PC or nas, Bluetooth and few more digital inputs.

    However, though all of that will work nicely, will it be nice enough for you? So you need to demo before you part cash.

    You will also need to consider the room it will be in. Furniture, size, flooring, windows, walls, layout. Room acoustics plays a massive part in how things sound and its far from unusual that what hear in a demo room, sounds different at home. So if it's going to be a minimalist room or one with a lot of hard surfaces, you may want to look at different speakers as well as some room acoustic treatment in terms of rugs, picture acoustic panels etc.

    Bk subs are great and well regarded, and the Gemini mk2 is no exception to the rule for the market it is aimed at, however, it's bigger brother, the XLS200, works better with music.
     
  5. TheSmokeyWhojar

    TheSmokeyWhojar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've done a little research about the better Yamaha unit and it does seem like a good option, mainly because of the Bluetooth. Because I would have to buy a Bluetooth add on unit for the other one and they cost £59 anyway, so I think I'm definitely gonna keep that in mind.

    In terms of will it be nice enough for me. I think it will be a nice starting point because no doubt i will want to go bigger and better in the future, as I learnt from my experience in the car audio game

    In terms of my room, it will be a wood floor with a rug in the middle with a fabric sofa which the speakers will fire directly at. The room is only small at 3m x 4m.

    As for the sub I'm really at the top of my budget for the moment so I'll have to make do with Gemini for now, but thanks for the suggestion.

    Anything else you can add would be helpful
     
  6. Don Dadda

    Don Dadda
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,571
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +715
    You seem to have a handle on things. Of course there are plenty other options out there which will only confuse yo, but you know what you want and it's a very nice setup and hope you have many enjoyable times with it.

    If the only benefit of RN602 is the bluetooth option, you could may as well stick with the AS501 and add a Bluetooth dongle that has APTX support (better SQ than the standard bluetooth format) which the RN602 does not.
     
  7. TheSmokeyWhojar

    TheSmokeyWhojar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I'm not after something mind blowing just a nice set up to listen to and occasionally watch a film.

    To be fair, your right. I won't really use any of the other features. I may use the Spotify one but then again I have a PS4 so i normally run Spotify through that.

    The Bluetooth things you've linked to are much cheaper than the Yamaha ones. Would you stick with one of the ones you've linked me to or would it be worth shelling out for one of these? Yamaha YBA-11 Bluetooth Adapter

    ?
     
  8. Don Dadda

    Don Dadda
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,571
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +715
    The yamaha BT adapter you linked supports APTx so you could go with that, but I don't the AS501 in the list of compatible amplifiers - only AV amplifiers and mini hifi's. However I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work with the AS501 though.
     
  9. TheSmokeyWhojar

    TheSmokeyWhojar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for your help. I'll post again if I get stuck in future
     
  10. Don Dadda

    Don Dadda
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,571
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +715
    You're welcome.
    Post back after a few days when you have it all up and running and let us know what you think.
    Also give the speakers some time to run in and open up a bit more. Not sure how many hrs they will need but they will sound a better after some playing time.

    Also, if the Bronze 2 follows tradition, they will be bi-wireable and will have links on on the posts as shown below:

    MA Bronze_rear.jpg
    Do not remove those links unless you plan to bi-wire or bi- amping. if you do and just use the standard twin speaker cable, either you wont get treble or bass depending on which you connect to.
    I apologies if you know about this already but thought i put it out there just in case :thumbsup:.
     
  11. TheSmokeyWhojar

    TheSmokeyWhojar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
    No I didn't know about the bi-wiring thing. I'll be sure I wire them correctly. Thank you again.
     
  12. sreviz

    sreviz
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Did you bought the yba 11 adapter . How is the quality of music on blue tooth and the connectivity please?
    Thank you
    Saravan
     
  13. TheSmokeyWhojar

    TheSmokeyWhojar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
    So i finally have some of my system up and running.

    I ended up with the monitor bronze 2s with a Yamaha DSP - AX750SE because my friend was selling one cheap. I must say this speakers are unbelievable, I just can't stop listening to them. They haven't even been playing for more than 5 hours and they sound just lovely as they are, so I'm looking forward to when they are properly run in.

    I still haven't bought the YBA 11 adapter but it's on my list for sure.

    I'm just looking at my options for subs to go with this amplifier. I'm still looking at the Gemini as I posted above but because of the monitor speakers been so good.im tempted for the monitor bronze sub but it's not cheap for £450 but would it be worth it? Has anyone listened to it and can comment on it's sound and would it sound well with what I have all ready?

    Thanks for any help
     
  14. Paul7777x

    Paul7777x
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    North east. U.K.
    Ratings:
    +606
    The monitor audio sub is a good one. But BK Electronics runs a 'straight from the factory' policy. That is, there is no middle man to make an average sub more expensive.

    If you are contemplating the Monitor Audio sub I'd strongly suggest you re-consider, buy a better sub and save some cash.

    The BK XXLS200

    XLS200-DF Walnut

    And for the same price as the MA sub you get this monster.

    The XXLS400

    XXLS400-FF

    Both are a league ahead of the MA sub. But I think the 400 might be overkill for your room.

    If you get the 200, I'm certain you'll be delighted for years.

    They come in a pretty impressive range of finishes too.
     
  15. TheSmokeyWhojar

    TheSmokeyWhojar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a lot, after just reading the spec they do seem to be much better value and for a lot less money. I think you've made my mind up. I'm gonna go for the 200. Seems like a really good value piece
     
  16. TheSmokeyWhojar

    TheSmokeyWhojar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right I need some help folks. I can't get my tv to connect to my amp. I can't understand why I'm not getting no sound.

    I've connected my tv to my amp via rcas. I've imputed them in the back of the amp as shown in the attachment and changed my output on my tv and still nothing. What am I doing wrong? I know this is a bit vague but I'm really struggling
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Paul7777x

    Paul7777x
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    North east. U.K.
    Ratings:
    +606
    Have you got a pic of the rear of your tv with the output cables shown? Just in case...
     
  18. TheSmokeyWhojar

    TheSmokeyWhojar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is This pic good enough?
     

    Attached Files:

  19. TheSmokeyWhojar

    TheSmokeyWhojar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
  20. TheSmokeyWhojar

    TheSmokeyWhojar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
    Out of interest what are you supposed to input into your tv?
     
  21. TheSmokeyWhojar

    TheSmokeyWhojar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks so much, it works! I'm just used my old TV set up! I love forums, they always have the answer
     
  22. Paul7777x

    Paul7777x
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    North east. U.K.
    Ratings:
    +606
    The red and white phonos you were using are the audio input for the component video/audio output of an older DVD player or games console.
     
  23. TheSmokeyWhojar

    TheSmokeyWhojar
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any idea how I can switch to my tv speakers as opposed to constantly using the amp?
     
  24. Paul7777x

    Paul7777x
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    North east. U.K.
    Ratings:
    +606
    If your tv does not have proper phono L/R outputs but has a scart output you can use one of these adaptors

    SCART Adaptor AV Block To 3 Phono Composite or S-Video With In/Out Switch GOLD | eBay

    This will allow an audio signal from the tv to be sent via phonos to your amp and will not involve the headphone output.

    But whilst using the headphone output the tv speakers will be muted.

    If you post the model number of your tv I can find out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice