Holo3dgraph with 737 dvd player

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by fatrich, Oct 14, 2002.

  1. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +36
    Hi
    can any of u holo3d card owners please assist, i am getting this card but cant afford an sdi modded player at this stage, i am going to use my pioneer 737 (progressive ) dvd player what can i expect if i use the component in on the hd3 card, will it be on a par with the Theatertek software player.

    cheers

    richard
     
  2. Couch Potato

    Couch Potato
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont know the 737 but assuming the MPEG decoder is good you should see a comparable picture to TT. I was running a Sony CX860 until it packed in and Component in from that was as good as my TT.

    Has the Pioneer got the Chroma bug?

    Steve
     
  3. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You will not see a better picture with that player against a properly configured, calibrated HTPC with TT for film.

    You will have BETTER performance than TT for video based material.

    SDI would be the move towards TT and film.
    Jenz.
     
  4. Couch Potato

    Couch Potato
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did say comparable not better :D

    Steve
     
  5. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +36
    Thanks guys
    Steve the pioneers has the chroma bug and it is only intended as a fill in.The panasonic you bought is it the american or european vcersion , because there are 2 types on the web site where u bought yours from with different power 110v and 220vThe european model is a dearer. + is your dvd-audio?
    I had a word with Tom from Immersive and he is still looking for a European suppliers as yet hes had no luck.

    Neil
    wot are the results like on your Arcam, are u still using component?

    cheers

    richard
     
  6. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +263
    Neil,

    Have you tried SDI yet?, the picture quality should be better than TT.
     
  7. Couch Potato

    Couch Potato
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Richard, I've got the RA82 which is Euro spec, the only thing I needed to get was a UK spec power cord, it came with a Dutch one! The difference between RA and US spec RP is it does not have component out nor is it progressive (not an issue) I think it is a DVDA player although not really checked, I got it 'cause it was SDI.

    Hope this helps.

    BTW How flexible are your working hours, I spend a bit of time in Leeds and could bring my Panny over once you've got your Holo card to see if it warrants buying.

    Steve
     
  8. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have been thinking about going the plunge with a HTPC using a H3D and getting a decent SDI modded player.

    But and here is the big one, me and computer do not get on, so left me thinking a Quadscan CS2 with the SDI maybe the way to go.

    Any thoughts open to most resonable suggestions

    Oh currently use a Pioneer 737 via component to Quadscan Pro, XGA out into a Barco 1208/2.

    Regards

    Nathan
     
  9. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +550
    I'm hoping to get my Pioneer 737 modded for SDI, to use with the Holograph 3D.
    I was wondering if the chroma bug will still be a problem. Ie is the chroma bug built into the decoder chip, or during the A/D conversion.
    So if the SDI mod takes the direct "digital" feed, will the processing in the Holograph hide or be free of the bug?.
     
  10. Couch Potato

    Couch Potato
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dont quote me on this I'm rapidly getting out of depth!! The Chroma bug is an fault in the MPEG decoder so it's automatically passed on as SDI picks up a direct digital feed, however the Fara FLi2200 chip does help to mask the Chroma bug to some degree, hopefully soemone more knowledgeable can fill in the gaps?

    edit: Fulabeer the offer to Fatrich is open to you also, I'm only 25 miles south of Altrincham.

    Steve
     
  11. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +36
    Steve
    we will all have to get together and have a mini event, seriously i live in Halifax so meeting up aint a problem let me know and we can arrange something.

    With the sdi thing i believe (not 100 %) that the chroma bug lives within the majority of dvd players as for as i am aware panasonic based machines with the exception of the denon 1600 player are the only players that are chroma free.

    cheers

    richard
     
  12. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :)

    there's a "should be" in there Jeff ;)
     
  13. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +263
    I have not seen the H3d card, the SDI silks SDI IS better then TT. ;)
     
  14. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jeff, depends on which TT :)

    Neil
    wot are the results like on your Arcam, are u still using component?


    Actually I have been doing all sorts of stuff but mainly running the Arcam's components which are nothing short of superb. The dedicated player smokes TT on video performance, film its not so clear cut and is very heavily dependent on rez, frequency etc.

    Watch this space.

    Neil.
    p.s. Sometime in November I will have a weekend free. If anyone wants to come over and stay and watch some movies and kick back and discuss processing, H3D, HTPC whatever let me know via PM.
     
  15. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +36
    Neil
    sound good to me let me know the dates u have in mind so i can mention it to her in doors

    cheers

    richard
     
  16. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nov 23/24th I was thinking.
     
  17. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +36
    Neil
    i think we are in Birmingham that weekend at a santa claus thing for the kids, i will let u know when i catch the wife.

    Btw the driver u used for the Ve (7199) i cant see it on there web site there is a 7189 though.

    cheers

    richard
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice