Ho to improve stereo performance?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by planbeta, Aug 25, 2002.

  1. planbeta

    planbeta
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Stourbridge
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am going to buy a Denon 3802, and I am wondering what I can add to push the stereo performance up a level? Can you add a stereo amp? I'm pretty clueless here!

    Any ideas?

    Cheers
     
  2. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    You can add a stereo amp which will run the main pair of speakers with the Denon just providing the decoding and powering the centre and rears.

    It's an expensive way of getting improved stereo and rather than spend £1,000 plus to do it this way, it may be better to buy an AV amp that handles stereo better than the Denon in the first place.

    Have a look at Arcam if stereo is your priority.
     
  3. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +163
    I hadn't realised that Denon A/V amps had a reputation for poor stereo; is this a serious drawback in their gear? In what way is the stereo performance weak?

    Bert
    www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  4. planbeta

    planbeta
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Stourbridge
    Ratings:
    +1
    The reason I ask is I have been offered the Arcam DiVA A65 at dirt cheap price, if I buy this can I use it with the Denon? and will it significantly increase stereo sound?

    The Denon is good for Movies and PLII and the A65 is supposed to be good for stereo - so does it follow I will have a good all round system this way for under £1000?

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  5. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I don't know the A65 but if you connect up a "good" stereo amp to the 3802 you will have the best of both worlds.
     
  6. planbeta

    planbeta
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Stourbridge
    Ratings:
    +1
    Excellent, thanks Ian just what I needed to know!

    Hope it's not going to be too hard connecting/configuring it all!?

    By the way in stereo mode would the 3802 provide the sub bass if required?

    Thanks again...

    Chris
     
  7. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I have to pass on that one. I have read the theory but haven't tried it in practice. I presume so but am not 100% sure
     
  8. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    13,309
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    This isn't hard to set up, but there are serious problems so be warned. First, to answer your questions, the bass would not be powered in stereo mode. This is because the sub would be connected to the Denon, unless there is a way of connecting it to the Denon and the Arcam at the same time.

    Now to the problem. I connected an A75 to a Denon A10SE to experiment for exactly the same reasons are you are currently doing. It worked like a dream in most respects BUT the Arcam has a low threshold before the safety circuits kick in. So, you'll be watching a film and during a particularly loud passage, the Arcam would cut out and switch itself back on a few seconds later.

    This is damn annoying.

    Even during Moulin Rouge the fronts kept cutting out as the Arcams protection circuits kicked in.

    If you listen to films at low levels, its fine. Turn it up a touch and you'll be disconnecting it pretty quickly.

    Hope this helps :)
     
  9. planbeta

    planbeta
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Stourbridge
    Ratings:
    +1
    UrbanT - Thanks for the advice/warning!
     
  10. Lowrider

    Lowrider
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Everything will work exactly the same way, regarding processing, with or without the extra power, you will get bass to the sub both ways, if you use the LFE and Denon internal crossover, you don´t have to change anything, if you use high level connection, just connect to the output of the power, instead of the receiver...

    Now, if the Arcam is not powerfull enough for your front speakers, you will have the problems Urban referes...
     
  11. mick23

    mick23
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +2
    do not mean to hijack thread, i have 3802+arcam divaa85 connected see earlier thread (how to connect 3802+a85) i have not tried a85+3802 with a dvd only with pl2 mode on vcr worked ok, re protection circuits (what does this protect(speakers or a85)
    the a75 is 50watts the a85 is 85watts i cannot comment on prot/circuits cutting in or out as my a85 is only working on 1 speaker channel for the av line in ,and will be returned to dealer for checking out, for me personnally i dont find the a85 in sterio is a (great deal better than 3802) having heard 3802 vs arcam avr200 in sterio arcam (i think is better) but 3802 better for av side,
     
  12. planbeta

    planbeta
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Stourbridge
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mick, is the difference in stereo between the 3802 and the AVR200 appreciable?

    Also are you saying that the A85 is not that much better than the 3802 in stereo?

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  13. mick23

    mick23
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +2
    i already owned 3802(avr200 had not been released when 3802 was purchased) last week heard 3802+cdm1nts+nad 540i cdplayer (i own nad540) then heard avr200+cdm1nts, avr200 was linked to arcam £1000 either cd or dvd/cd player this would affect the comparison, then heard arcam a85+cdm1nts+nad540i this was the best out of all for sterio, having gone this route, 3802+a85 having more time to compare at home 3802vsa85 i do not think the extra cost of (£630 at cheapest for a85) gives that much improvement over 3802 to warrent the expence, hope this helps,
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice