1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HL2 and STEAM

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by rvdbarnes, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. rvdbarnes

    rvdbarnes
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    sheffield
    Ratings:
    +0
    evening all

    I bought Half Life 2 earlier, and got the game of the year edition it includes;
    Half life 2
    half life 2- death match
    half life:source
    counter strike:source

    Iv installed and whenever i try my icons for anty of the above i go to a "steam" screen, iv registered an account and now im on the steam screen
    and it says that all of the above are updating as well has HL2:Lost coast?
    Half of them are 100% ready now?

    whats going on guys?

    rvd
     
  2. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    Well, since the game has been out for a while now a lot has happened since then. New games have been released and lots of patches have been released. Its going to take time for your PC to update everything. Once its all done, you will be able to play all the games.
    Once they are ready you should be able to double click on the shotcuts and play the games.
    There shouldnt be any problems.
     
  3. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,954
    Can I sask a dumb question please !
    Is the only way to buy Half Life 2 on line via this Steam thingy ?
     
  4. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,446
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +267
    Yes you'll have to go online to decrypt the game initially and update/patch the game even with a dvd retail copy but then you'll be able to play the game in offline mode after. I bought the silver package though and downloaded the whole lot over steam. There was a lot of bad publicity regarding steam in it's early days , but, I've never had any issues with it myself. Steam is great as far as I'm concerned and is probably the future of game distribution. Online mode is mainly for counterstrike source and day of defeat source both great multiplayer games and available with the silver package (as are all the games in valve's back catalogue).
     
  5. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Well I bought Half-Life 2 from amazon, so you can buy a retail copy and then Steam will update any new patches automatically.
     
  6. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,954
    Do you gain anything by buying online rather than a DVD copy from a shop ?
     
  7. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Nope, they are both the same. If you like physically having the disk for your collection then that is the only consideration imo. Unless there is a big price difference?
     
  8. texasboy

    texasboy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    After a recent system re format I reinstalled the Steam Client and HL2 & Deathmatch, CSS, LC etc and I have to admit does take a little while when doing it from scratch.

    However, once everything has patched itself and is ready to go I think Steam is flawless. It's never once dropped the ball for me. I wonder how long it will be before other Game Studios/Publishers start doing the same thing?
     
  9. NWhiteley

    NWhiteley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,009
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Westhoughton
    Ratings:
    +93
    doesnt the steam account also allow you to play the game without the cd/dvd in the drive?
     
  10. overkill

    overkill
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,778
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Murkeyside
    Ratings:
    +1,194
    Yes.
     
  11. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    :oops: Yep, forgot about that. This is a goo reason in itself, especially if you're the type that hates digging the cd out everytime you want to play!
     
  12. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +347
    **cough**no cd crack**cough**
     
  13. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    But afaik any attempt to install a cd crack will disable your Steam account, that's why I haven't even tried it!
     
  14. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,446
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +267
    I don't think ppl with retail dvd's/cd's have to have the disc in a drive to play anymore. This was fixed in one of the steam updates shortly after release iirc.
    Also I'm pretty sure vac2 would notice if your were using a hacked executable and ban your account.
     
  15. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    no, you dont need the cd/dvd at all to play steam games. Only to install them:)
     
  16. Ian C.

    Ian C.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    691
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +35
    I was thinking of trying the demo, when you install
    steam is it free as with other demos to play or do you have
    to pay a subscription,got as far as e-mail but thought I would
    check this out first.Am I right that you can play demo or single
    player for free and subscription is just for multiplayer,cant find
    info on it.Thanks in advance.
     
  17. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +347
    u dont need a disk to install them, steam will download all the files for u, so u only need a cd key and only one time when u register it to your steam account
     
  18. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    you can use steam free or pay a subs price (at least i assume steam still does the monthly subs)........if you use free then you pay for each game you want to use, if you pay subs then you get every game released as and when its released, you dont buy it........cant remember what they charged tho....

    i would imagine demos are free tho, even if using a free steam account....

    i went for Silver package as it gave me all teh back catalogue, which to me was worthwhile as i love the original HL games...heh......i also like the idea of just being able to sign in to steam wherever i am and upload the game i want :)

    (altho to play say CS:S you need to download HL2 as well, but to play HL2 you dont need to download CS:S, you can turn off individual downloads)

    i like steam, i think its a very good idea, and considering its the first of its kind its few teething problems for some customers are justified.......most of the problems peopl have are not to do with steam but their computer systems not being able to actually run the games like HL2 or overloaded by spyware etc........but it does have inherent problems for other people as well....but then what computer software doesnt? some people swear by McAffee, some by Norton, others by non-commercial av/firewall software.....reason? you just cannot make a software program work for every single computer configuration possible at 100%......same as no business can offer 100% perfect service everytime, it may be human error, technical error, or whatever else....

    *gets off soap box*.....heh
     
  19. crunchman

    crunchman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    734
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    North Wales
    Ratings:
    +61
    Nope, you can buy the source multiplayer pack which includes :

    HL2 DM
    DOD S
    CSS

    And you can play these with or without owning or downloading HL2, I know this because I bought this package for my younger brother two weeks ago.
     
  20. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    well, yeah - if you want steam to download 2gb off the internet for you lol.
     
  21. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +347
    only took me a few hours, left it on overnight was easier than installing it all then getting the updates, this way it was all done at once.

    On the issue of steam apart from Friends which is terrible hasn't worked for me in over a year I think steam is amazing, never need to patch your games and if u play on servers that save stats and stuff, u can easily log into steam anywhere and have all your stuff (of course any custom sprays, binds etc... wont be there)
     
  22. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    ooh, ok, didnt realise they'd done that now...lol.....my bad :)

    mind you, you do have probably 80% of HL2 within those files.....the bits missing are just the actual maps and cutscenes...heh

    does that pack give you the SDK btw? (ie to make your own mods/maps)

    nothing more fun that making your own Source or DM map...heh....takes a while to get really good ones going, but the basics are actually quite easy if you take the time to read up on how to do it.....
     
  23. crunchman

    crunchman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    734
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    North Wales
    Ratings:
    +61
    Yup.

    And you get Codename Gordon :rolleyes:
     
  24. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    oh i loved codename gordon!...lol..that was soooo damn cute :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...