Hitby's Plasma above multifuel stove thread

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by Hitby, Mar 4, 2013.

  1. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Hi all, going to keep track of the remodel of my ground floor here :) It'll involve moving from one room into another and opening up a chimney to install a stove - the tv and centre speaker will be mounted above with the cables channelled and then run under the floorboards across to the cupboard under the stairs that will house the AV equipment.

    The budget for all the work including all building/plumbing/electric was originally £4k but that has risen to around £5k already due to needing the chimney repointing and adding a plinth heather to the central heating in the kitchen. Budget includes, stove, flue pipe and fixings, wiring, new floor throughout the groundfloor, replastering both rooms, pointing, knocking out the fireplace, installing a lintel, bricking in one in the other room etc.

    This is the masterplan
    [​IMG]

    The wiring for the fireplace
    [​IMG]

    Hopefully the final product will look something like this
    [​IMG]

    I've started knocking the hole in the fireplace through
    [​IMG]

    and I've started the channelling to see what I was letting myself in for. The plaster at the bottom of the fireplace is pretty rotten so it'll all have to come off upto about 6ft and then just be boarded in.
    [​IMG]

    I've chosen my recliner
    [​IMG]

    my settee
    [​IMG]

    Stove - A Mendip Loxton 5
    [​IMG]

    Deadline for the project is 10th May (furniture delivery) which is an issue as a lot of the work is reliant on my plumber moving our boiler and rerouting the heating pipes out of the fireplace. Unfortunately he can't start until 25th March and then the stove can't be installed until 25th April due to budget constraints. I.e. I'm skint until then :D

    I've also bought 100m of Philex speaker cable and a 12m HDMI lead so I'll install them while the floorboards are up.

    Is it worth wrapping the cable in anything to protect it or will it be ok just running through the crawlspace under the floor?
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2013
  2. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Floor
    [​IMG]

    Sofabed - we don't have a spare bedroom so handy if anyone wants to stay.
    [​IMG]

    Chair
    [​IMG]

    New radiator as the original will be removed to open up the space for a log store
    [​IMG]

    Speaker cable/HDMI cable and IR extender have arrived
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2013
  3. DavidMac

    DavidMac
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +271
    Freaky! A work colleague is doing the exact same thing at this very moment, it's not you is it? :)
     
  4. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Haha, not unless you work in the toon :) I'd be interested to know how he gets on!

    Powermids have now been tested and they work perfectly with my kit which is a bonus, one less thing to worry about. Can't wait to get started on the wiring now :)
     
  5. True Romance

    True Romance
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,963
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +3,029
    IMHO I wouldn't even think about putting a TV above or anywhere near a stove. The heat off these things is immense!

    I would advise great caution.
     
  6. S D I

    S D I
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Blackburn
    Ratings:
    +114
    Sorry to contradict you True Romance but I have done a few in my time and advise Hitby to not worry about a thing.
    The radiated heat is indeed immense but will not be enough to heat the air rising in front of the TV significantly enough to cook it!

    Natural convection will keep the room at approximately the same temperature with a possible slight increase (5-10 degrees in extreme cases) at the TV position.

    Easiest way to confirm what I say is to place a thermometer on the chimney breast at the TV height with the fire on full chat!

    I promise you, the radiated heat will be more apparent to the TV viewers than the TV.
     
  7. True Romance

    True Romance
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,963
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +3,029
    lol...I was going to post that with the stove on you won't be able to watch TV anyway :D
     
  8. Davek0974

    Davek0974
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    You should be ok, we have a 5kw stove and our mantlepiece does not get got at all, most of the heat is thrown well clear of the mantle.
     
  9. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Thanks guys, I hope with a 9" shelf between the TV and the stove the heat will be deflected out somewhat to avoid any complications. I obviously can't really test this before I go for it as once I've installed the stove I'm committed to having the TV above it anyway due to space constraints.

    Still, if it was too hot I could always read a book :D
     
  10. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Also, just had a thought - I've ordered a set of speaker plates that screw into the wall so I can terminate my speaker wires that will run under the floor.

    Will I be ok to use the same speaker wire for the sub cable or do I have to get some coax as well?
     
  11. S D I

    S D I
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Blackburn
    Ratings:
    +114
    don't worry about a thing
     
  12. S D I

    S D I
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Blackburn
    Ratings:
    +114
    without looking at what speaker system you have it is always sensible to run a coax and a speaker wire for when you change your system.
    If you were to ever read other posts of mine you will see me banging on about how I duct everything (even twisted pairs) in which case you can worry about wiring discipline later.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2013
  13. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Thanks SDI.
    I've got another question - I'm thinking about getting behind tv mood lighting that I saw in another thread - there's not enough depth for the power adaptor though. Is there anyway I can run something like this from the USB port on my TV? It's an LG PK350 with a USB 2.0 port. I can't find out the voltage of it anywhere
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2013
  14. Davek0974

    Davek0974
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    If its LED strip lighting then no, the USB port will not be able to handle the current.
     
  15. S D I

    S D I
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Blackburn
    Ratings:
    +114
    There is not enough current available from a USB port unfortunately.
     
  16. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    That's a shame, I guess I need to find something that I can just wire into the fused spur as well?
     
  17. HouseTonyStark

    HouseTonyStark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    2,906
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +541
    perhaps you could have the power adapter for the strip light running away from the unit, and extend a much smaller cable carrying the power from the adapter to the strips?
     
  18. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    The wire that comes with the kits is 1m but that's a good idea, I'll have a look around and see if it's possible to get some sort of extension cable
     
  19. HouseTonyStark

    HouseTonyStark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    2,906
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +541
    theoretically you could just do it with chock block, but thats a somewhat gung ho approach!
     
  20. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Well, My chimney is now pointed and all good and ready for a new flue to go down it. Unfortunately this is all the pipes that currently go through the fireplace. Not ideal by any stretch of the imagination. I'm going to get them cut and extended right to ground level and then run under the floor around the front of the fireplace.

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Well, all the heating is done and the fireplace is now being knocked out!

    [​IMG]

    I've run all my cables, just need to terminate them all now :D
     
  22. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    and voila!

    [​IMG]
     
  23. a1y

    a1y
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    stourbridge
    Ratings:
    +2
    same set up as the wife wants in are living room!, look forward to watching this thread
     
  24. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Cheers, yeah, I can't wait. The room feels massive with the fireplace open. I put the rug down to get a feel for it :D
    [​IMG]
     
  25. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Finished my wiring
    [​IMG]

    Just the last pic I took. Plasterer is in today to get started. He's going to plaster both rooms over the week, starting with the chimney breast. The inside faces of the fireplace are being rendered with a traditional lime/cement mix as plaster would probably crack from the heat and I've been warned off fireboard by various hetas installers. Looking forward to getting home from work tonight to see the progress.

    Also bought my hearth tiles. A natural slate so they won't crack from the heat.
    [​IMG]
     
  26. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    And the first fix is on. There is a 6" 'safety zone' around the fireplace that has no plasterboard, just a lime/cement render to avoid cracking.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  27. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Browning has all gone on and walls are ready for plaster

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  28. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    So this was the fireplace with the opening knocked out and the new lintel fitted

    [​IMG]

    Then with the boarding and rendering

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Top coat of outer surfaces
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    And most of the rest of both rooms done
    [​IMG]

    Coming back tomorrow to finish the inside faces of the fireplace and two more walls that need doing.

    Getting there!
     
  29. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Well, got in and the plastering was finished. The inside faces of the fireplace are wet but the face was dry so as a true av enthusiast - that has missed watching telly, I got the TV up :)

    Apologies for the sideways pic, I'm on my ipad. Will sort it out when my computer is back up and running.

    The led lights - well, in the end I cut the power wire and chock blocked a piece of speaker wire into it. I'll probably solder it at some point -this was more a proof of concept for the missus (she approves!)
     

    Attached Files:

  30. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
    Nice weekend this one so I thought I'd get out in the garden and build my log store. It cost me £24 in total. I recycled some old fence posts and some timber from a false fireplace I pulled out. It's a bit rustic as none of the timber was the same lengths but I quite like it like that

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...