1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi Unveils World's First Terabyte DVD Recorder

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Moosh, Aug 25, 2005.

  1. Moosh

    Moosh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,999
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +470
    Hi all

    From: http://www.nytimes.com/reuters/technology/tech-japan-hitachi.html

    Now, if only we could get digital hi-def... :rotfl:

    Moosh
     
  2. Rob_J

    Rob_J
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,001
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +88
    Why dont they just put some sata sockets on the back of machines then you can attach different ones, or even a removeable drive bay.
     
  3. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +297
    Note that your link states that Panasonic are the market leaders in DVD recorders.
    Hitachi seem to be having a hard time. They also have a tie-up tho with LG in the manufacture of the popular LG GSA 4040 and LG GSA 4163 PC DVD Writers which in common with Hitachi DVD recorders support DVD-RAM.
    http://www.cdrlabs.com/reviews/index.php?reviewid=258

    Surprisingly tho' the LG DVD recorders do not support DVD-RAM.

    My Panasonic E85 80GB never gets anywhere near full. Dunno what I do with such
    a large HDD as Hitachi are going to use. Have you noticed that the larger the HDD in DVD recorders the more costly they retail. Way out of all proportion to the cost of the larger hard drive. A case of charging what they think the market will stand?
     
  4. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +927
    That would be good, at least then they will be very easy to upgrade. Maybe thats why they dont do it, well probably that and maybe copyright issues?with such large data storage.
     
  5. Topgunn

    Topgunn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apparently this one has 2 HD digital tuners, and since u can only store 128 hrs of HD material on 1 TB i'd say its not too much.

    Unfortunately no way to copy these HD materials since the unit does not come with a Blue Ray recorder.

    grtz
     

Share This Page

Loading...