Hitachi screen impurities

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by thewrinklyone, Mar 30, 2002.

1. thewrinklyone

thewrinklyone

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wish I knew about this forum a year ago, it would've saved me a world of hurt!

Anyway this may be bit long winded but I'm a newbie so please bear with me. Just over a year ago I bought a Hitachi C36WF810N television. After a 6 week wait the installers came and let's just say that they weren't the most helpful of fellows especially when they left the surround sound speakers right next to the television leaving a pink hue down one side of the screen. After being told for over a month that this impurity would pass, Scottish Power, now Powerhouse, finally exchanged it for me. Everything was fine for a week or two until I noticed when watching black and white movies, a blue stain about 2 inches in diameter in the bottom left corner of the screen, then in the top left and now in the top right corner. This would come one day and be gone a few days later so I kept leaving it until I could stand it no more. I called Powerhouse and they arranged for an engineer to examine my telly. The engineer came, waved his magic deguassing wand, said the screen looked fine and went, I could see no difference apart from more impurities over the screen. I have no speakers next to the telly nor is it situated near a radiator. It's been just over a year now and after paying nearly £2000, I feel a little miffed as I expected a perfect screen for that price. And to cap it all last Saturday I treated myself to a Sony amp and when I put it on the top shelf under the telly it turned the left side of the screen a light brown, which still has not completely gone. Televisions should not do this should they? Has anyone else had the same problem and if so were they able to do anything about it?

Hitachi C36WF810N
    Sony DVP-S336 DVD player
    :mad:

2. sbrads2424

sbrads2424

Products Owned: