Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Hitachi plasmas and HD input

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by MR2Harvey, Oct 24, 2003.

  1. MR2Harvey

    MR2Harvey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'm thinking of getting the Hitachi 42PD3000 from John Lewis for £3000 plus a 5 Year warrenty as many have on here, however can someone tell me if I could ever display a HD broadcast on this TV. I have looked but can't get info on this. The 42PMA400E can I believe, however John Lewis doesn't sell this. I haven't made my mind up yet but need to get the facts in order to draw up a shortlist. If the media box of the 42PD3000 can not take a HD 1080i input could you do it some other way? And if not what is the point of the 1024 vertical resolution?



    Thanks in advance




    Harvey
     
  2. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its a bit of a puzzle TBH but the 42PD3000 is not compatable with HD formats (1080i/720p). I remember when the panel was released, the explanation for not being HD compatable was that Hitachi didnt see a need/demand for it in Europe.

    If however the PD3000 is the favoured panel, you can get a scaled HTPC input into the panel via its VGA input. What you could do therefor is build/have built a HTPC acting as your source. You may want to contact Phil Hale from Uvem, www.uvem.co.uk for some advice on this.
     
  3. MR2Harvey

    MR2Harvey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks for the advice.

    Is HDTV something that I should worry about, does anyone have any idea when it will be commonly available in the UK?


    Cheers



    Harvey
     
  4. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    Hi Harvey,

    Euro1080 start broadcasting on 1/1/04 - see www.euro1080.tv for more info. Whether we will see the BBC or Sky broadcasting HiDef anytime soon is unlikely.

    Steve
     
  5. MR2Harvey

    MR2Harvey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ok so some HDTV will be available in Europe next year, probably nothing of interest though. Are we looking at 1 year delay for the UK (Sky etc) 3 or 5. If it's going to be 5 years then I am not bothered now, if Sky is going to broadcast in 3 then it's far more important to make sure my TV is ready for HDTV.

    Just another thing to think about when deciding.........




    Harvey
     
  6. banane

    banane
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. MR2Harvey

    MR2Harvey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6

    Very interesting, how much is HK$387 in £GBP?




    Harvey
     
  8. banane

    banane
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You've got the price in $ : 50USD Really cheap, even without shipment !
     
  9. MR2Harvey

    MR2Harvey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6

    It makes a change for something to be cheap!! :)



    Cheers



    Harvey
     
  10. JH4

    JH4
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +264
    The Hitachi PMA 400E WILL display a Hi Def signal via the component inputs- and bl***y good it is too....!
    Regards
     
  11. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    JH4 - As far as I am aware no one said it didn't :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice