1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi Plasma TV and Philips LX3950 amp problems

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by lafemme, Aug 18, 2005.

1. lafemme

lafemme
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a newbie to plasma technology. I have this week bought an Hitachi Plasma, think it is a 42HD4200 (or very similar name anyway) and I am very happy with it, the picture is fab and the sound is fab too. I have two queries - and I am at a loss as to what 'composite' and 'component' mean, I have sort of works out 'composite' might be a scart connetion! [?]. Anyway, my problems are these:
    I have a Philips LX3950 divx player/home cinema. Because the tv only has one scart (AV4), I have used this for my Telewest cable box, so I bought a scart to 6 phono to run from dixv player to AV2 on plasma. This works a treat, I change to AV2 and it plays DVDs fab, the tuner facility on the divx player works through it a treat, HOWEVER, when I switch to tv on the dixv player (its has disc/tv/tuner/aux options as its an home cinema amp) nothing happens! :suicide:
    When I have my Panasonic CRT tv which was connected to the divx player via scart to scart, if I chose the 'tv' mode on divx player, my television was broadcasted through the amp's speakers/subwoofer etc but nothing is happening now, its like the tv mode has died because I am not using scart to scart.
    When I look at the back of the divx player, it just has one scart connection and it has two red/white audio in/out areas.
    Why, when I am using AV2 and switching to 'tv' mode on amp does it not use its surround sound??? Where am I going wrong? :lease: