1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi plasma and progressive scan

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by pauwoo, Mar 18, 2005.

  1. pauwoo

    pauwoo
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have a Hitachi plasma 42DP5200 and i also have a Denon 2900 DVD.

    I have just gotten myself a component lead.

    I connected one end of the lead to AV1 on the screen which is supposed to be for component, turned on the progressive scan on my DVD and changed the video output to RGB, put in a DVD and it wouldn't spin up my DVD.

    I changed the video output back to s-video and it played fine.

    I moved the connections from AV1 to AV2 on my screen which is also a component feed and changed the output on the player to RGB and it now plays fine.

    Does anyone have any idea why it wouldn't work in the original connection?
     
  2. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +108
    No idea why it didn't work but you'll probably find that progressive scam makes no difference on the Hitachi as it's an interlaced screen.

    I did a lot of testing on my 5300 with an Arcam DV79 DVD player switching between progressive and non progressive. My wife (who knows nothing about prog scan) did the viewing and preffered the non progressive picture.

    John
     
  3. DaveRichardson

    DaveRichardson
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know about the set up of your Denon DVD player, but the Hitachi inputs are :
    AV1 component input is Y Pb Pr ie not RGB
    Av2 input can be RGB or YPbPr (it should switch automatically).

    It sounds like you are sending an RGB signal

    Regards

    Dave
     
  4. efendi

    efendi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    got a 42PD5200 and the DENON 2900 too, going progressive (component) to AV1 and it's working fine... Be sure you connected the cables properly. BTW, I've also found little to no difference between progressive and interlaced signal, except the menus from DVD having less line flickering on progressive, so I've left it this way. Had not much time for testing, though...

    Petr
     
  5. efendi

    efendi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    IMO there is the possibility to select the RGB output thru DENON's scart output only, not component :)

    Petr
     
  6. efendi

    efendi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, take a look at HITACHI's menu, there is a part of it called "input setup" or so, and there you'll find the preferred input signal type for each input... Look at AV1, it should be "auto" or "component" IMHO

    Petr
     

Share This Page

Loading...