1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi PD7200 v "new?" 42PD5200(H)

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by rick4, Jul 14, 2005.

1. rick4

rick4

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dear all

New to all this and it does seem quite daunting, how you can get stitched up going in to a retailer and reading this site!

If anyone can help, I am either looking at getting the Hitachi 42PD7200 or the 42PD5200(H). This last model seems to be described as (H) “new” on Pricerunner.co.uk. The problem is the cheaper 5200 seems to have more features like progressive scan, being a novice I thought this seems better?
    Its also HD ready (according to the logo’s with web pictures) but I am not sure what this means exactly as I can’t see details of it having a HDMI socket.

I’m also not sure if the best thing is to go for an external control box or have it all integrated?

If anyone can offer advice I’d appreciate it.

Basically looking to spend about £2k, want the TV to be HD compatible/ready without the need to add parts.

Thanks very much

Rick4!

2. rudy

rudy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Most would say go for the 7200.

Not sure if progressive scan works on alis screen

3. Badger0-0

Badger0-0

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    Yes 7200, definitely.
    Both are interlaced screens because of the way they alternately light the lines, if I understand correctly.

Although this is not a problem :smashin:

4. Neil69

Neil69

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +14