1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi Pd5200 Will Apparently Work With Sky Ha After All?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by nm10721, Jul 19, 2005.

  1. nm10721

    nm10721
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hello,

    I have looked through various threads on this forum and their appears to be no definitive answer other than specualation as to wether the Hitachi 5000 series will work with the new Sky HD because of the Hitachi's displaying 720p60, 1080i50/1080i60 where as Sky's new HD service is compatible with 720p50 and 1080i25.

    I have a a pd5200 which I bought over a year ago from Digital Direct. I noticed they were selling the pd5200h model and decided to phone them to see if the 'h' set was just a software upgrade.

    My experience of sales staff at Digital Direct has always given me the impression that they are very knowledgable re Plasmas. On this occassion I expressed my concerns to the sales rep and he basically said their is very little difference between 50hz and 60hz and that in his opinion this would cause no problems with SKY HD. He further stated that that it would be a struggle to notice any picture difference. I expressed my concerns having read these forums on this subject and he stated that 'sometimes people just read into things too much'. I'm starting to wonder if he's right.

    Obviously connectivety is not an issue as the DVI socket is HDCP enabled.

    Would anyone like to share their thoughts as to wether they think their will be any problems with this Hitachi series when SKY HD reaches our doorsteps,

    regards,

    Neil
     
  2. carlymart

    carlymart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    northeast
    Ratings:
    +18
    i have a 5200 and a denon 3910 if the switch the denon to output out a 720p 50hz picture no signal is shown on screen
    i do not expect the 5200 to work with sky hd and will upgrade in 18 months time once hd is up and running well
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    He is obviously talking out of another oriffice, not his mouth.

    WHAT a muppet there are huge differences between 600Hz and 50Hz absolutely huge 10Hz is not like a few lines of video information ie difference between 720p and 1080i, the differnce if a set can display both is not noticeable, but if it isnt compatible the differnce between a picture and no picture is quite HUGE

    all you need do is get a scaler to convert 720p @50Hz to 60HZ and bobs your mothers brother
     
  4. Whitey1977

    Whitey1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    The 5200 which I also have is stated in home cinema choice as being HD ready. I usually trust those folks - they seem to know what they're talking about!

    Whitey
     
  5. nm10721

    nm10721
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    thanks for the advice suppose I was listening to what I just wanted to hear, any idea where I'll get one of these scalers? will using a scaler cause any other issues? I take it a scaler will convert 1080i @ 60HZ to 50HZ as well as 720p to 60HZ?

    My tv displays 720p/1080i @ 60HZ, I take it you mean't that the scaler will convert it to 50HZ, sorry if i'm talking sh**e

    thanks again

    Neil
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    a scaler will not only make it compatible it will make the Picture far better and some will allow you to adjust the overscan that hitachi removed from the panel controls scalers that are capable start at £700 for a lumagen DVi and go up to a few grand i reconmentd you also have the whole lot calibrated see www.homecinemaengineering.com for more info as you have an alis screen an upgrade to a 7200 wont give you more pixels so stick with the 5200 and get a scaler to act as your central video hub and transform your Picture....................you need to see this in action tho as some peole are put of by FRC (frame rate conversion) from 50 to 60Hz it can introduce "judder"
     
  7. nm10721

    nm10721
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    thats the revised pd 5200H, unfotunately mine is the pd 5200
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    No extra judder on the big H, they process at 60Hz anyway.
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    well thats super then, seems that the 5200 is the most compatible incompatible plasma around...................................pity Hitachi dont just offer a media box upgrade........but a scaler will do so much more it is worth the extra £££
     
  10. nm10721

    nm10721
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    So I wont, get judder cause my pd5200 runs at 60HZ right?

    MAW, can you advise, is a Scaler my best and only option for the 50HZ SKY HD issue?

    Or is their any other option, short of selling it?

    How cheap should I go for a Scaler, heard you can get some less talked about models for about £300.

    Damn, will my Hitachi PD5200 really not work with Sky HD, i feel robbed!
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    only sclaer in the region of £700 to £1000 will process digital signals the cheaper ones only work on analogue signals and are often wrongly descibed as scaler when they are actually de-interlacers
     
  12. nm10721

    nm10721
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    thanks, cant say i can really justify £700-£1000 after originally buying the plasma for £2400 1.5yrs ago, however I'll think it over,

    thanks for your advice.
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    well start saving it will be a few months before Sky HD is available, so stick £100 a month away and I bet you you can buy a suitable scaler for the money you you have saved
     
  14. nm10721

    nm10721
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    You're a bad influence, stop giving me ideas!

    I might just do that, cause I like my screen otherwise.

    Just rigged my Xbox up to High Def via component and it looks very good.

    Thanks for your help, I would be lost otherwise.
     
  15. loadsofleads

    loadsofleads
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi nm10721, My bottom is also clenching at the thought of the Hitachi's compatibility. I have the same basic version as you, did the rep say what the difference between the two models were. Let's not forget that the 5200 was badged as a Sky plasma for a long time, albeit it was not labeled as Sky HD ready, but I doubt Sky will ****** off all those people with a 'sky' plasma that it isn't compatible with sky's own transmissions :smashin:
     
  16. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,923
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
  17. nm10721

    nm10721
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    the rep didn't comment on the difference between the two models, cause i got side tracked when he said wrongly that it would work, think im gonna get a scaler, very annoying though!
     
  18. bazlion

    bazlion
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    This is from Hitachi Website FAQ'S



    My 42PD5200 Hitachi Plasma does not have HDMI ? would I be able to connect a HDMI device to my plasma?


    Yes, HDMI is backward compatible with DVI.

    A HDMI to DVI adaptor can be bought from most good high street retailers. Please be aware that DVI does not support sound through the connecter, you will need to purchase an audio lead (phono L+R) to connect between your HDMI device and the panel.

    Please consult your manual for an explanation to connect devices to your Hitachi plasma.


    Does the 42PD5200 DVI socket support HDCP (High Definition Digital Content Protection)?


    Yes, it supports HDCP.


    What is HDCP and why is it important to have?


    HDCP stands for High Definition Digital Content Protection and was developed by Intel as a decoding/encoding method to prevent copying of protected material.

    DVD players with DVI or HDMI outputs will be HDCP enabled and DVD?s shall also contain this encryption. If a HDCP protected DVD is played in a DVD player or TV without HDCP then no picture or sound will be produced.

    Satellite broadcasters transmitting Hi-Definition material shall also utilise HDCP in their broadcasts to protect certain content.
     
  19. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The dodgy bit of this is that one could read the Sky info that they will broadcast in both 1080 and 720, both at 50Hz, but not simultaneously, and not switchably by the user, but according to the whim of the content provider!!!! Now that really would be a pain in the butt, have half or whatever proportion of a service! With no prediction of what you will see or not. Clearly this is more than a little crazy, maybe Sky don't actually know what is going to happen. They have stated that HDCP will be permanent, all content protected, not just some. A nightmare for all concerned, maybe they should have just stuck with a tried and tested yank format, then we'd all be OK!
     
  20. bazlion

    bazlion
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    From Hitachi today.

    Dear Sir,

    Thank you for your email.

    32/42PD5200. These sets cannot be called "HD Ready" because to do this you
    need to be able to accept and display 1080i 50/60 & 720p50/60 via DVI and
    Component. We can show 1080i 50/60 but only 720p60.

    42PD5200H. Again we cannot call this set "HD Ready" but we are calling it
    HD Compatible. It can accept all signals via the DVI and all signals
    except 720p50 via component.

    32/42PD7200 Fully Compliant with "HD Ready" specifications.

    The Good News:
    Sky have confirmed that the first HD boxes will allow you to select the
    output, so you can select 1080i (which we think is the best signal anyway)
    and connect via the Component input. This means that you can view ALL sky
    programmes including HD broadcasts. It may also work via the DVI socket but
    this is a bit more complicated and we will need to see a Sky box before we
    can confirm.

    HDTV broadcast services will start in Europe in 2006. This will deliver
    viewers the best picture quality ever seen in the history of broadcast
    television. HDTV refers to the highest-resolution format of digital
    broadcast TV. While there is still some discussion about what is true HDTV,
    it is generally accepted that 1,080-line interlaced (1080i) or 720-line
    progressive (720p) are HDTV. A TV that is described as 'HDTV-ready' is
    usually capable of properly displaying at least 1000-line interlaced or
    720-line progressive.

    DVI & HDMI

    These are both signal connections that enable the TV/monitor to connect
    directly to a digital signal so that there is no conversion of signal
    between its source and the screen. Most of the older TV systems convert a
    digital output signal (from a DVD player, for example) to an analog signal
    for the display panel. DVI (Digital Video Signal) carries a video-only
    digital signal and HDMI (High Definition Multimedia Interface) carries a
    digital video signal plus audio.
    I apologise for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction this matter may have
    caused you but trust that the above information has helped to clarify the
    situation.

    Regards

    Consumer Affairs Team
    Hitachi (Europe) Ltd
    England, UK.
     
  21. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    the first bit in bold is contrary to what i believed about sky the second bit in bold is not how i would word it (there may be no analogue to digital converison, but a hell of a lot of processing DOES need to be done.........)
     
  22. nm10721

    nm10721
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I take it I can kick the Scaler into touch just now then? How will that work with programmes that are being broadcast at 720p @ 50HZ if my pd5200 only accepts 1080i @ 50/60HZ, with the Sky HD box set to 1080i??

    thanks
     
  23. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    untill we see the boxes we have no idea i was not aware that the ability to select 720p or 1080i was selectable at the box end if this is correct you still need a scaler if you can select it you need the box to upscale 720p to 1080i then let the plasma ALis it................it may work keep sticking £100 away and by the time we have a definitive answer you will be able to buy a scaler or have a rainy day AV fund................
     
  24. nm10721

    nm10721
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    would their be much difference in picture quality between good component leads and a HDMI/DVI connection if my DVI connection turns oout incompatible?
     
  25. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    until we see the box we wont know but there are bigger issues
     
  26. nm10721

    nm10721
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    thanks, just have to wait and see i guess
     
  27. busterman

    busterman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    SKY state that the resolutions they will transmit are 720p/50and 1080i/25.

    As the 42PD5200H transmits at 1080i 50/60, doesn't that mean that, contrary to what Hitachi have said, that this screen won't be compatible with SKY?

    After all:

    SKY = 1080i/25
    Hitachi = 1080i/50 or 60

    therefore Hitachi = no good?
     
  28. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    1080i 25 is 1080i 50 not really but 1080i at 50Hz is 1080 at 25 fps IIRC
     
  29. busterman

    busterman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sorry, but I'm not quite clear what you're saying. Are they the same or different?
     
  30. efendi

    efendi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    They are the same so you don't need to worry IMO
     

Share This Page

Loading...