1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi C32WF535N

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by cxd, Jan 25, 2002.

1. cxd

cxd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am looking to purchase a new 32" widescreen TV and have read the special review in the January edition of What HiFi.

I am very keen on the Hitachi C32WF535N which seems to get a fantastic write-up but I have some further questions (being a complete novice) before I part with my hard-earned cash.

Can anybody out there with more knowledge than me (or possibly with the TV) answer my following questions :

1. The review says it has 6 preouts to support Dolby Digital. What I want to know is - if I connect the 2 rear surround preouts to my HiFi amp's aux inputs (positioning the speakers accordingly), connect an 'active' subwoofer and then use the 3 internal tv speakers for Front Left/Right and Centre will I get true Dolby Digital sound ? or do I need to connect all preouts to a suitable amp/speaker configuration before this is possible ?

2. Anybody tried it?

3. Is it any good ?

4. Anybody got recommendations on active speakers if it is not possible ?

5. Is the TV as good as the write up suggests?

Many Thanks

2. sbrads2424

sbrads2424

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got the 28" version which is supposed to be identical electrically. Yes you could use an active sub plus an ordinary stereo amplifier to feed 2 rear speakers and use the internal speakers for the front. All you need to do is not mute the internal speakers.
    On the other hand, my small Sirocco Crossfire satellites used instead of the TV speakers sound a lot better than the internal ones, so I would only recommend using the internal speakers if on a tight budget.