1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi? Anologue viewing and things

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Discord, Jan 15, 2005.

1. Discord

Discord
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, sorry, I'm a complete novice.

I'm looking to spend around £2k. Verging towards the Hit 42PD4200. However I concerned if Plasma is the right route for me at all!!

I don't have SKY or Digital and don't watch much sport. Use for the TV will be: watching standard channels & DVDs. May get Freeview at some point for the kiddies..

I only have an anlogue signal {socket in the wall} but the signal is very good {its cable}. I also only have a very basic DVD palyer and basic video player: no other equipment.

Questions are: Are Plasmas ok for analogue and is the Hitachi up there with the best? Do I need to invest in extra equipment to improve PQ/sound? I will probably get a home cinema as well..

Oh.. one last thing: I'm starting to get concerned now re the futute and HDTV!

Any advise at all would be appreciated.

2. Nick_UK

Nick_UK
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +270
    Are you sure you mean the 4200 and not the 5200 ? The 4200 is an old model, sold by Richer Sounds, and it's a lower res screen. You can get the 5200 for around 2k.

3. Discord

Discord
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Meant the 5200! Any thoughts on my questions? Any why did you go for the 5300

4. Blu Ray

Blu Ray

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +12
    Two reasons I bought the 5300 over the 5200: JL sold the 5300 and was able to PM. Also I prefered the 'one cable to screen' option.

5. Nick_UK

Nick_UK
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +270