Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Hitachi 7200 and Sky HD

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by nheather, Jul 11, 2005.

  1. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    17,453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +6,808
    I have just been looking through the Manual for the 7200 which I downloaded from the Hitachi site and I am left concerned that it will not support Sky HD.

    It contains various references to supported resolutions including

    1080I/50
    1080I/60
    720P/60

    but not

    720P/50

    Is this correct? If so does this mean that the 7200 won't be able to display Sky HD?

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  2. clarky78

    clarky78
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,879
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Ratings:
    +41
  3. mjm2705

    mjm2705
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +19
    On page 28 of my 7200 manual it says:


    "About 720p/50Hz

    720p/50Hz can support for AV4, AV6, and RGB 1 (DVI-STB) only during the single picture mode.

    RGB2 (component) is not available for 720p/50Hz."

    There are lots of other refences to 720p/50Hz all the way through the manual.
     
  4. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    17,453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +6,808
    Thanks for the response. Obviously the manual that you can download from the Hitachi UK website is different - Page 24 is all about controlling the volume.

    This statement is a bit of a worry though.

    I thought I had read that Sky HD would initially use Component rather than HDMI.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  5. mjm2705

    mjm2705
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +19
    Yeah so's mine .. its page 28 !!!


    Don't worry about it ... RGB2 is a PC connection, nothing to do with HDMI or DVI ... do you have a 7200?
     
  6. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    17,453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +6,808
    Sorry can't read.

    The downloaded version is still different though. Page 28 shows lots of modes but not 720P/50.

    Does anyone know what the Hitachi does with a 720P signal. Does it upscale it to 1024 interlaced (ALIS type interlacing not broadcast interlacing)?

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  7. Miander

    Miander
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +6
    if im honest u have scared the CRAP out of me. I have looked closley at the manual and on p28 it refers to multi picture input, the 720p50 is singlescreen only! hence it would not be in this list!

    As for references to 720p50.
    Page 50, input signals
    Component Connections
    Page 52, bottom of page no 7, 720p/50 , 720p/50 is supported on AV4 only (which is component)
    HDMI connection (AV6)
    page 52, no 8 - 720p/50
    Digital signal input
    no 17 - 720p/50 -- supported

    The TV does brand a HD logo - on Digital Direct it has the same info as the PV500.

    This was what i based my whole purchase on... i mean if it doesnt i have just spent 2k on what would be a worthless piece of ****!... im going to call Hitachi Tomorrow!
     
  8. clarky78

    clarky78
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,879
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Ratings:
    +41
    Weird, just been to currys, and even the 7200 didnt have a HD logo!???
     
  9. clarky78

    clarky78
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,879
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Ratings:
    +41
    Dear Sir,

    Thank you for your email.

    Until Sky have totally committed to 720P50hz, no decision will be made by Hitachi Japan, as this is not a Hitachi UK decision, so at this time we are unable to advise as to whether a software upgrade will be produced or when any decision will be made.

    All 5200 series work like this:

    DVI, Component and RGBHV take the following HD signals:
    1080i50 1080i60, 720p60hz. (NOT 720p50hz, Sky proposed signal)

    This means they cannot now carry the 'HD ready' logo (industry wide logo) because they don't do 720p50.

    720p50 is a likely signal to be used for HDTV in Europe, but when the sets where designed there was not spec for High Definition in Europe, 720p50 wasn't speced, so no manufacturer thought it was necessary.


    I apologise for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction this matter may have caused you but trust that the above information has helped to clarify the situation.

    Regards

    Consumer Affairs Team
    Hitachi (Europe) Ltd
    England, UK.


    Page 67ish of the above mentioned thread
     
  10. Miander

    Miander
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +6
  11. Miander

    Miander
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +6
    Clarky! this is the 5200 not 7200!

    The 5200 doesnt support HD! the 7200 does... your getting muddled!

    and to top it off!

    Currys HD TV Preffs! CLICK HERE
     
  12. kissit2004

    kissit2004
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,

    are we saying that the hitachi 42pd7200 isnt HD or that it wont be compatable with the sky hd and has is got the logo on it.

    cheers.
     
  13. Miander

    Miander
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well where should it be?! i saw it in the shop!

    and all the info is above? it does the modes it needs! what else
     
  14. kissit2004

    kissit2004
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +0
    it should be on the front or on the back somewhere.
     
  15. Miander

    Miander
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +6
    NOut that i can see!
     
  16. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,593
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    It is compatible, no problem. It's just that you can't do split screen through component on AV4. Is that a real problem, though ???

    There is no Logo, but I really don't think it's anything to worry about :thumbsup:
     
  17. Miander

    Miander
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +6
    We will c tomorrow BAdge...im calling HITACHI!

    Also if it dont... its going back! false advertising on Currys!
     
  18. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    17,453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +6,808
    Sorry, I didn't mean to scare anyone. I was just a little curious myself as the downloadable manual does not make any references to 720P/50 that you guys have seen.

    I'm sure its a bodged manual (cut and paste from the 5200) but the manual is for 7200 honest!!

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  19. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,593
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    By all means do so mate :thumbsup:

    Post any info, please.

    I'd like official confirmation myself, but am pretty convinced it'll be ok :smashin:
     
  20. clarky78

    clarky78
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,879
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Ratings:
    +41
    Sorry, its been a long day:p and all these threads are confusing the hell out of me, but i am sure i didn't see the HD logo on the 7200 at Currys regardless of what the web page says. But if the manual states it it must be ok.
     
  21. kissit2004

    kissit2004
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +0
    hiya,

    u can go to the website www.homecinemachoice.com and look under plasma displays then under hitachi and look for 42pd7200 and it will tel u all about it.they say its compatable with skyhd new service and its worth the cash minus the badge.

    cheers stevo.
     
  22. neilios

    neilios
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    8,058
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,971
    Its a computer connection anyway ,i dont think you'll be connecting the new sky box with a d-sub lead . :nono:

    Its deffo compatible with both 720p and 1080i /50hz on av4 component ,av6 hdmi ,and rgb1 dvi-stb . :lesson:
     
  23. Miander

    Miander
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +6
    OKi spoken to Hitachi!

    the 7200 is 100% compatable with HD TV!.. on component / DVI / and HDMI connections!

    YEAH

    so dont you little ferrits frett cause its all "a" ok...
     
  24. david 4 fingers

    david 4 fingers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    :D :D YOU CANT FIND THE HD READY STICKER ?? come on guys you aint looking close enough :D :D

    [​IMG]

    this all singing all dancing plasma as gotabe HD ready wait an see :clap: :clap:
     
  25. Miander

    Miander
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +6
    lol classic

    having spoke to Hitachi they said that the TV is.. anbd they didnt know why the box/manual doesnt carry the logo..., but everyone else seems to know about it so its ok! :()
     
  26. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,593
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    Bob, you worry too much. :cool:

    You bought the right sort of kit :thumbsup:

    Have a beer mate, on me ;)
     
  27. Miander

    Miander
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +6
    aint just me mate... the misses bought it... I will get spanked for it... ang on... thats ok? :eek:
     
  28. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,593
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    :D

    You're in clover both ways then :clap:
     
  29. kissit2004

    kissit2004
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +0
    hiya folks,

    got this email backfrom hitachi today which reads like this,

    firstly the hdtv logois not mandatory,just desirable if you want customers to buy your plasma.obviously our oversight,the 42pd7200 is hdtv ready.

    secondly the 42pd7200 will accept both 720p50 and 720p60 so whatever sky or other broadcasters decide to use the set is ready.
     
  30. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,593
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    :cool:

    Although I find it strange that they didn't realise the HD logo would be important..

    I'm sure they'll soon see the error of their ways.

    Come on, Hitachi, pull your fingers out, you're losing sales through this, I'm sure !!!

    Oh, and if you do read, sort your customer service out too !!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice