1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi-7000\Pannasonic-PE50?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by robo989, Oct 23, 2005.

  1. robo989

    robo989
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Carmarthen
    Ratings:
    +70
    Which one?

    I notice lots of people with problems with the 7200, well not so much problems as teething problems and issues with the picture in certain areas...

    I intend to buy and X-box360 in a few months, and since the 7200 is hi-def alround this is a bonus.

    Or should I play it safe with the PE50 even tho it doesn't do that much, and costs almost as much.

    Also would really appreicate it if some nice person could point out the cheapest sites for these 2 sets.

    I do watch alot of dvds though, and use sky but thats not as much of an issue to me.

    What ya think?

    (Definately decided not to get a pv500 due to the sky high prices)

    Thanx for your help :), Rob
     
  2. RHCP

    RHCP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +25
  3. robo989

    robo989
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Carmarthen
    Ratings:
    +70
    thanks mate, the thing is I need the cabinet version, my walls are too thin to mount a wall bracket :(

    Any good offers to be had with either a pedestal\cabinet? (preferably a cabinet)

    thanks
     
  4. RHCP

    RHCP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +25
  5. bobboulby

    bobboulby
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. RHCP

    RHCP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +25
    eh?? thats even more expensive!!!!!!! :eek:
     
  7. bobboulby

    bobboulby
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only by £3 !

    They were excellent with mine, helpful service and next day delivery - hence the recommendation.

    Bob
     
  8. RHCP

    RHCP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +25
    Next day service is good!

    I had to wait for my finance check to come through, they had to send papers i had to fill them in they had to send them offf booorrrring :boring: , i just wanted my plasma.

    £3 for next day is good.

    This plasma is probably the best for not having any faults, no image retention, superb PQ, and i've just learnt that it is just as good as the pv500 showing hi-def over component! :thumbsup:
     
  9. robo989

    robo989
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Carmarthen
    Ratings:
    +70
    Hi, yeah thanks for all the input.

    Next day delivery is wahooo yowser good :)

    ...but then so is paying next year :suicide:

    Hey I was also wondering about the 1 issue the PE50 has\doesn't have...

    the 50hz\720p over component - Was this ever resolved one way or the other weather it can do it or not?

    Does this mean you can't watch PAL dvds in component in progressive mode? or am I confused?
     
  10. robo989

    robo989
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Carmarthen
    Ratings:
    +70
    @RHCP

    I see you got xbox live listed in ya siggy, whats it look like on your xbox, how do you connect it?

    any limitation that with the 50h\720p thing? (if there is indeed any issues there).

    Thanks again, Rob
     
  11. Repton

    Repton
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +135
    I've not had any problems with the Hitachi, since XBOX 360 is HD, wouldn't it makes more sense to have a HD panel than to regret it afterwards?

    Hey, where's all the Hitachi owners? Don't be shy now! :D
     
  12. bobboulby

    bobboulby
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry mate this is beyond my level of knowledge.

    Bob
     
  13. camorra

    camorra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +29
    What problems???? :confused:

    Cheerz :hiya:
     
  14. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The usual run of folks unhappy with the picture, mate. I think they are critically sensitive to settings, though undoubtedly H's best plasma yet.

    On another note, Robo, why are your walls to thin to wall mount? Unless they are made of fibreboard or something you will be OK. You've got to think of thin stud walls as an opportunity, not a threat! Hiding cables is easier in stud than any other construction.
     
  15. robo989

    robo989
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Carmarthen
    Ratings:
    +70
    Did a search and turned up quite a lot of posts from people with the same issue of...

    Solarisation (?)
    Colour banding
    Poor football\sports pictures
    motion blur

    Stuff like that really, it seemed that most of the people got it all sorted by tweaking the settings for the picture. But then I've not had any experiance tweaking settings on a plasma before and will prolly never get that feeling of satisfaction and be for ever tweaking (more like fiddling and messing with stuff I shouldn't).

    I'm really bad for that syndrome of worrying about stuff instead of just enjoyiong it. The pannasonic plasmas although overpriced seem to have less of this sort of thing.

    (by no means none at all tho!) - the panasonic stuff would prolly be easier to shift for a fairly good price 12 months down the road.
     
  16. robo989

    robo989
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Carmarthen
    Ratings:
    +70
    Ah hi Maw, already posted before seeing your post.

    I'm not up to speed with me construction terms but the walls are that crapp plasterboard stuff that comes in sheets.

    Its pretty thin stuff, if I was a violent person I could prolly put my fist though it without too much suffering.

    still you tell me if that stuff is ok?

    I'd love to think it is!!!!

    I could prolly strach to a pv500 if it is! :)

    :clap: thanks mate
     
  17. camorra

    camorra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +29
    You said it right......Though it only takes one time to set it!! Simply search
    the Hitachi Thread and you'll find the optimal settings for your needs........

    Is this such a problem?? Do you know how many are those out there happy
    with their 42PD7200?? :thumbsup:

    Cheerz :D
     
  18. robo989

    robo989
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Carmarthen
    Ratings:
    +70
    thanks mate, nah that problem, I don't. :)

    It certainly would be nice if its as good in viewing as the specs suggest. It doesn't seem to be on view in any Dixons XL\Currys near me - just to look at its lines and what not really.

    There's no way I can get a demo of one of these (or even a properly set up pv500\pe50 within a 100miles)

    And I can't drive to an accident I was in only got 90 degrees of vision...poopy:)

    But you seem happy.

    I haven't seen any reports on how it performs with games consoles (hint hint)

    :), Rob
     
  19. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Plasterboard is actually pretty strong. Reinforcing under the wall mount with a bit of 6mm MDF glued on with no more nails is good, and screw to that with cavity wall fixings, find a stud if you can, that migh govern the exact position of the screen. Wall mounts have a fair number of holes in them, so it's not too hard to make a hole and a stud coincide. Then a hole for the cables, and a dig wherever the cable route passes anothe stud. Minimal making good, zero cables. That's what a flat screen is all about?
     
  20. robo989

    robo989
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Carmarthen
    Ratings:
    +70
    thanks...

    what about positionion (as in how high up)

    I know they look best half way up the darn wall, but really don't wanna have it that high up, more like about 80cm - 1metre maximum, wouldn't that look abit...."funny"?

    I don't know anyone with a plasma mounted on their wall, only seen them on that program on mtv where celebrities showing off their pad. And its all for decoration in their cases.

    Sorry for my uncool view on things its just I wanna use the screen :)

    What do you think am I worrying needlessly?
     
  21. robo989

    robo989
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Carmarthen
    Ratings:
    +70
    I mean ideally I only really want a panel itself anyway.

    I've already got sky and a decnet amp\speakers so the PHD8 would be best for that right?
     
  22. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    LOL everyone worries needlessly. 80cm is good, mine is at 78cm... We are actually custom installers, not a shop, so spend a fair bit of time fitting. Most plasmas we mount at about 80cm, and try continually to persuade people it's a telly, not their granny's portrait! Have a look at 'get yer plasmas out for the lads' thread, it's never too far away, there are about 3 pages of recent threads. It's very very long, have a skim of that for some members efforts. 1 or 2 of mine in there too. I've got some other photos if you'd like a few, just don't get too hung up on it all, do what you want.
    Ah, next post, the PHD would be brilliant especially if you have decent video switching in your amp, a easy, cheap(ish, maybe!) and simple to use system can be yours. It's much much easier to deal with wall mounting, the connections are in the right place for one (Vieras are a pain in the butt) and it's nice and slim, on a mount about 60mm thinner than a viera.
     
  23. wonderloaf

    wonderloaf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    Feel like I've got to say something to support the Hitachi... had mine a few months now and am really happy with it. Had a few issues with PQ to start off with (factory settings), but after using the settings on this forum and a few tweaks is now absolutely fine - I found that contrast and sharpness are the main villians here. When buying my plasma I compared the 7200 side by side with a Panny (can't remember which one but it was a late one) through a Freeview box in JL, thought the Hitachi had the better picture, plus it was future proof as far as HD and connections were concerned. So I bought it (but not from JL ;) ) and have not regretted it. Even the missus is happy! :D

    I guess that the Panny's work perfectly out of the box...right? And I also seem to remember a thread somewhere about a buzzing noise that exists on some Pannys.....
     
  24. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Of course the PD7200 would fit in instead of the PHD7 if you prefer the picture on it, it's physically the same as the panny once you ditch the speakers and motorised stand. The PHD is about the same price, but without the speakers and stand, and has the inputs you need immediately out of the box, though HDMI is an add on. You don't need it yet I should think, but put the cable in the wall if you are going that way.
     
  25. RHCP

    RHCP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +25
    Xbox looks amazing, Halo 2 looks superb, i set the xbox to 60hz and connected over scart. Don't know wether this is the best way, looks awesome though!

    Other people connect it through component with a patch or something, I've got a great picture through scart. :)
     
  26. robo989

    robo989
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Carmarthen
    Ratings:
    +70
    Just looked at some more reviews for the 7200...

    And noticed that it used "ALIS" technology...

    Is this bad, I remember a few months ago, maybe a lot longer everyone saying they are bad news...

    Whats so bad about them? Do they have any "limitations"? Are they true "HD"?

    I've done a search and it just brings up lots of ranting and no real reasons why they're rubbish (if they are ;))

    So would really appreciate some info on this "ALIS" stuff, will it affect connectivity with a PC?

    thanks, Rob :)
     
  27. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    OK, let's try for balance here. Love it or hate it, alis is tru HD, no question. You'll get better blacks with the panasonic, but the H is renowned for bright vibrant colours. The panny is a bit more sudued. Alis and PC:- you can't get native res, but XGA is not bad, just not as sharp as a pixel mapped panasonic. The H is of course a bit cheaper, that convinces a lot of people!
     
  28. robo989

    robo989
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Carmarthen
    Ratings:
    +70
    cheers Maw, you saw "XGA"?

    What res exactly is that?

    1024x768?

    If so, thats fine?

    Thanks man, Rob :)
     
  29. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    XGA, you have the definition. The panasonic is 'true xga' so will look sharper, you'll be addressing each pixel. You really MUST see the screens run, you could make a tragic mistake buying either of them blind. I take no responsibility for advice given!
     
  30. robo989

    robo989
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Carmarthen
    Ratings:
    +70
    :thumbsup: lol, thats ok

    Thanks to everyone for their help

    , Rob
     

Share This Page

Loading...