1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi 5xxx owners with connected PC's

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Dan L, Apr 21, 2005.

  1. Dan L

    Dan L
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wotton-under-Edge
    Ratings:
    +110
    Just interested to know what resolutions you guys run your PC's in...once I get my new TV I will most likely be changing to full-time HTPC use, but am a little confused as to what resolution to run in to acheive the best 16:9 picture I can.
     
  2. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    As 1:1 pixel mapping is AFAIK, impossible, I tend to run mine at 1024*768 which, obviously, stretches the picture somewhat but I find it OK for occasional web browsing.

    If I'm playing DVD's etc through the PC, I use 1920*1080 (30hz Interlaced)

    John
     
  3. Dan L

    Dan L
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wotton-under-Edge
    Ratings:
    +110
    What if you want to get a true (or close) 16:9 aspect though?

    Also, if running 1920x1080 how does the panel handle that horizontal resolution when natively it can only manage 1024?
     
  4. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    For 16:9, you can try 1280*720.

    Problem is that once you go above 1024 horizontal pixels, the scaling means that you start to lose information which, IMHO, makes the text much harder to read.

    John
     
  5. Kraken

    Kraken
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Depending on your graphics card you should be able to use Powerstrip to setup the non-standard resolution of 1024X576.

    If you then use Zoom2 on the PC input, you get a very good full screen 16:9 image.
     
  6. Dan L

    Dan L
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wotton-under-Edge
    Ratings:
    +110
    Cheers Kraken - sounds like a good option. I have a GeForce 6800GT so it should be able to use such a mode.

    When using different zoom/aspect options on the TV, are the settings remembered for each input?
     
  7. Kraken

    Kraken
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, but with one problem, specific to the PC input.

    If you boot up your PC it will start in a standard VESA mode, then Powerstrip will kick in and change to the non-standard resolution when it's run by the windows startup process. Unfortunately, every time the plasma senses a change in resolution it changes back to the default zoom mode!

    What you need to do is boot your PC, but leave the screen off (or set to another input). When you think enough time has passed that Powerstrip will have started, you can turn on the screen (or swap input), and it will have remembered to stay on Zoom2.

    It's annoying, but you get used to it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...