1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi 5200H

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Zebraman, Jun 13, 2005.

  1. Zebraman

    Zebraman
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    what the fudge!

    That's a 42PD5200. Where has the H come from? has Hitachi added something extra to it to make it totally HD Ready?
     
  3. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    This is an old model, and I see no difference between this and previous ones sold in the UK. Also the suffix letter denoted the tv's place of sale so a UK tv should be a 5200E. All of the Hitachi sets were touted as being 'higher definition' than other plasmas because of the number of pixels. It is a good price for what some of us would say is not a bad set but don't be fooled by the high definition tag.
     
  4. Zebraman

    Zebraman
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep, they've made it HD ready but i'm wondoring where all the connections have come from as the standard 5200 only has 1 scart.

    unbeatable.co.uk have listed it as a new set coming soon.
     
  5. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    On closer inspection, they seem to have reworked its interface boards. 2 scarts and 2 DVI connectors.
     
  6. ereggiani

    ereggiani
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The key question is: does it now support 720p / 50 Hz ?
     
  7. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    So is this a 42PD5200 with some new bits on it? If so, is it possible to add bits to mine?
     
  8. Snap

    Snap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Celle (Hannover)
    Ratings:
    +1
    I see 1 scart, 2 DVI's and
    "Manufacturer Code: 42PD5200H
    Internal Product Code: HITACHI.42PD5200H"
    written below connectors pictures.

    I am looking for model similar to 5200H but selling in Germany....?
     
  9. cheetah69

    cheetah69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    they have this on sale in comet oldham for £1495 with i big sign HD READY i will go and look at it today :)
     
  10. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    Does anyone know if it is possible to "convert" a standard 4200 to the HD ready model?
    This would be a better option for me as I really like my 4200 and don't want to have to get rid of it and buy a HD ready plasma!
     
  11. AndreiM

    AndreiM
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is a response from Hitachi on the H vs E models. I have the H and can confirm it does support 720p 50Hz though only via the DVI input.

    Dear Sir/Madam,

    Thank you for your email.

    The difference between the 5200E and the 5200H is as follows. The 5200 can accept 1080i @ 50 / 60 and 720p @60. The 5200H can also accept 720p @ 50 through the DVI input only. It is HD Compatible.

    I apologise for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction this matter may have caused you but trust that the above information has helped to clarify the situation.

    Regards

    Consumer Affairs Team
    Hitachi (Europe) Ltd
    England, UK.
     
  12. IanD912

    IanD912
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thought some of you might find this interesting regarding the 5200 series.

    Recieved this email this morning from Hitachi. - Looks like good news (I hope!):thumbsup:

    Dear Sir,

    Thank you for your email.

    HDTV broadcast services will start in Europe in 2006. This will deliver viewers the best picture quality ever seen in the history of broadcast television. HDTV refers to the highest-resolution format of digital broadcast TV. While there is still some discussion about what is true HDTV, it is generally accepted that 1,080-line interlaced (1080i) or 720-line progressive (720p) are HDTV. A TV that is described as 'HDTV-ready' is usually capable of properly displaying at least 1000-line interlaced or 720-line progressive.

    32/42PD5200. These sets cannot be called "HD Ready" because to do this you need to be able to accept and display 1080i 50/60 & 720p50/60 via DVI and Component. We can show 1080i 50/60 but only 720p60.

    42PD5200H. Again we cannot call this set "HD Ready" but we are calling it HD Compatible. It can accept all signals via the DVI and all signals except 720p50 via component.

    32/42PD7200 Fully Compliant with "HD Ready" specifications.

    The Good News:
    Sky have confirmed that the first HD boxes will allow you to select the output, so you can select 1080i (which we think is the best signal anyway) and connect via the Component input. This means that you can view ALL sky programmes including HD broadcasts. It may also work via the DVI socket but this is a bit more complicated and we will need to see a Sky box before we can confirm.

    I apologise for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction this matter may have caused you but trust that the above information has helped to clarify the situation.

    Regards

    Consumer Affairs Team
    Hitachi (Europe) Ltd
    England, UK.
     
  13. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,968
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,659
    It is good news , but I've yet to see SKY confirm anything . I'll wait and see , for now

    John

    Ps , welcome to the forums
     

Share This Page

Loading...