1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi 42PD5300 & Sky remote control

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Big Al, Jul 25, 2004.

  1. Big Al

    Big Al
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sandhurst Berkshire UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've just taken delivery of the 42PD5300 and now have a problem operating sky via remote control.

    All sky signals are sent, but are not being recieved by the digibox. If I turn the screen off, the remote commands work. Sometimes they will continue to work after the screen is switched back on and then stop working. All my other componants work correctly, including sky via a video sender in the bedroom.

    I presume this is infra red interferance from the 42PD5300, but is there any way of dealining with this problem?

    Cheers

    Big Al
     
  2. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,499
    I have the 5200 and Sky+ and have no problems - Sky box is probably about 2dt below the TV
     
  3. Big Al

    Big Al
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sandhurst Berkshire UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Duncan

    Thanks for the reply.

    Problem sorted I moved the digi box back approx 25mm and all works as it should.

    Sky's help line was useless on this matter, insisting that I had to enter the TVs model code into the sky remote, quoting that the remote will not operate the digi box with out it!!!

    Regards

    Big Al
     
  4. Yelpir

    Yelpir
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to dig this up but I also have a 5300 and Sky+, do you know the code to allow the sky remote to operate the Hitachi ?

    Thanks

    Yelpir
     
  5. Big Al

    Big Al
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sandhurst Berkshire UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    You could try the codes at the back of the sky plus manual.

    Sky were unable to give any codes for the 42PD5300.

    Big Al
     
  6. Mac B

    Mac B
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I've just set up a Sky Remote to operate the pd5300 and the sequence on the remote was;-
    Press tv on the Remote
    Hold the select and red button simultaneously till the red light blinks twice
    Press tv again
    Key in 0145 - remote blinks twice.
    Press off and if the plasma switches off, press select - Remote blinks twice.
    If the Plasma doesnt switch off - press tv then the off button until it does and press select.

    That did it for me. It took a couple of trys and eventually did switch the plasma off on the first attempt with the off button.

    Cheers
    Mac B
     

Share This Page

Loading...