1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi 42PD5200 settings >200 hours DVE

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by saintalan, Feb 3, 2005.

  1. saintalan

    saintalan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +47
    After playing with DVE over the past couple of weeks, I had another go today after clocking up 200 hours. I cant say I find DVEeasy but this is what I now have as my settings, I'm still happy with my PQ but will live with it a while before passing judgement and trying again.

    Input...AV4/RGB...DVD thru Sky+
    Picture Mode...Natural
    Contrast...0...as I get no blooming I find this a difficult one
    Brightness...0
    Colour...+3...set through Colour Decoder settings (see below)
    Sharpness...-8...at this level I gained a slight sharpening without banding
    Contrast Mode...Normal
    Black Enhance...Off
    Auto Colour...Off
    Colour Decoding...Colour (Blue Filter) +3
    ........................Green +41
    ........................Red+27
    All others...Off

    Cheers

    Alan
     
  2. tradesman

    tradesman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alan m8 why have you got your contrast set to 0 after 200 hours mine has done no where near that and the contrast is set to +10 coulour +3 and I get a perfect picture on satellite (dont have sky by the way use a motorized dish multisat setup)
     
  3. saintalan

    saintalan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +47
    My paranoia over screen burn (reading too many forums!) thoght I'd lower it from Max to 0. I am happy to put it up now but was just trying to follow DVE. Of course I can set it visually to my liking which I will probably end up doing.

    How did you set yours?

    As an aside for Sky viewers the Sky box offers 3 contrast levels so that can have an effect.

    Cheers

    Alan
     
  4. tradesman

    tradesman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    alan mate I just kept all my settings as low as possible till I got a picture I could live with, think the factory settings were far to high but if hitachi are advising you to keep your settings down why they set them so high in the first place beats me
    ps as for the sky digi boxes they are well rubbished for their picture quality amongst the sat community
     
  5. saintalan

    saintalan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +47
    Not so much Hitachi as these Forums! The manual actually recommends +31 for contrast and it can go higher! Like you I will play around with and see what fits the bill. Since your last post I have whacked it up to +31 again, must admit it looks good.

    Are you using RGB and have you set the Red/Green at all?

    Thanks

    Alan
     
  6. tradesman

    tradesman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    alan yes I have set the red blue green can't bring to mind what settings as the screen is switched off just now but will check when it goes on and post all my settings. also have you seen my ps in last post re sky digi boxes a lot of posts on here are from peeps not happy with pic quality from them a plasma screen is only as good as its picture source

    oh and yes all my inputs are through AV4 via a auto scart switching box
     
  7. Rampage

    Rampage
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    The reason that the contrast is so high is because your set could potentially have been a demo set in a store such a dixons, comet etc. They put the contrast up so that it stands out from the ohers on display. With the brightly lit stores and monkeys 'setting them up' they need all the help they can get to sell themselves!

    Chris
     
  8. tradesman

    tradesman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    talk sense rampage m8 if I had bought the set from dixons in the first place might be a chance of that but I doubt even dixons or comet for that matter would be daft enough to sell a demo set as new
     
  9. saintalan

    saintalan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +47
    As I said, the Hitachi manual recommends +31 for contrast, thats what mine came set as and due to the wait I had pretty sure it was not a display model. I'll do a reset but pretty sure it'll be +31.

    Cheers

    Alan
     
  10. saintalan

    saintalan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +47
    In general I am happy with my Sky+ PQ sure some channels aint great, like Football first when its sharing the bandwidth with others but Desperate Hosewives PQ on Ch4 is great in my view!

    Cheers

    Alan
     
  11. Rampage

    Rampage
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Taken from www.dictionary.com

    potentially

    adv : with a possibility of becoming actual; "introducing possibly dangerous innovations"; "he is potentially dangerous"; "potentially useful"


    Meaning the set COULD have been used as a demo set, not that it was. At the end of the day 1x42PD5200 has to be used as a demo in every branch of dixons, comet etc that sell them. If all the sets ever made have high contrast to make it look good in a brightly lit store then there is a 100% chance that the demo model will have too. Which, at the end of the day, is what sells them.
     
  12. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,983
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,667
    Hi all , I mentioned somewhere on another thread , the possibility of using colour bars broadcast over sky digital to set the colour levels .

    Well I had the chance to implement my theory today , and so far I'm impressed . Eastenders seemed very good tonight (picturewise ;) ) , the test will come when the marketsweeper and his brother are in it , but Dirty Den seemed a lot better than normal . Enterprise's T'pol is another one where I had problems , but I don't have a saved ep to check it with .Do Ch4 show it on a sunday at the moment , may have to + it

    I used the PinP facility , DVE on one screen and the broadcasted bars on the other .Adjusting the Levels to match the settings I'm happy with on the DVD output . I'll see how it goes over the next few evenings and report back (if I remember :laugh: )

    Still not sue about Contrast brightness settings , they currently both hover around "0"

    ttfn
    John
     
  13. tradesman

    tradesman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dont think the plebs at dico's or comet have the brains to mess with pic settings they come with settings set at the factory with high contrast levels cause manufacturers recomend veiwing in well lit rooms because (they say veiwing in darkened rooms causes tiredness) can't say I've noticed it myself
     
  14. saintalan

    saintalan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +47
    John so where are these bars on Sky?

    Did you set your RGB? If so what to.

    Thanks

    Alan
     
  15. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,983
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,667
    This is the channel you need

    Service1…………10.714 H sr: 22.000, fec:5/6 William Road bars (16:9) & tone..

    Courtesy of digitalspy

    You will need to add it into other channels

    As for my current settings ;

    Page1

    Picture - natural
    Contrast } -3
    Brightness } -3
    Coloue } +1
    Sharpness } 0
    Col Temp } Normal
    Cont Mode } Normal

    Page 2
    every thing off ,except

    Film Mode } on

    Page 3

    Col Temp } Off
    Col Man } Off
    Colour Dec
    Red } +29
    Grn } +42 :eek: yeah really
    Colour } +1

    Works for me , so far . Still have to fiddle with Contrast/Brightness tho

    If you are gonna change , make a note of your current settings if your happy with them

    Happy fiddling :blush:
    Js
     
  16. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,983
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,667
    Forgot to mention that I recorded Spider-Man tonight .I should be able to do a like for like comparison , utilising PinP . Who knows when I'll get that oppertunity tho
    atb
    john
     
  17. Rampage

    Rampage
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Exactly, I mean that Hitachi set them with high contrast so that they stand out in a brightly lit store (ie they don't trust staff in a store to set it).

    I'm not sure that I've explained it very well!
    It's mentioned on the DVE disc (with a better explanation!)

    Anyone know where I can buy Avia?
     
  18. Rampage

    Rampage
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    On another note, I made up a setting sheet for the PD5200. You just print it out and write the setting in the corresponding column. Only problem is I can't find the file at the moment! I have a nasty feeling it was on the laptop hard drive which fell down the stairs a few weeks ago!
    If I find it I'll put a link to it.
     
  19. tradesman

    tradesman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    try here rampage m8

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66336&highlight=DVE+disc
     
  20. saintalan

    saintalan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +47
    John thanks have tuned that in and will have a play later, first reaction...will have to tame the Red a bit seems high compared to DVE...but yes our RGB settings are similar, seems Red comes down a bit and Green up...

    My Brightness seems fine around 0 or + a couple of points...its the contrast that gets me, there is no doubt that at the Hitachi recommended +31 its pretty good. I remember on my cRTs I have always had my Contrast at Max - a couple of points, so maybe the +31 is the equivalent as if you hold the UP key down it'll go even further!

    I have my Film Mode Off as generally I watch less films than other stuff.

    Cheers

    Alan
     
  21. saintalan

    saintalan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +47
    John Hi,

    just had a play with the Sky Colour Bars and lo & behold rather than reducing the settings using the Filters I increased my R to +28 & G to +44

    Looks OK tho' I am still unsure re Contrast and wish I could figure out the DVE way to set it as I get no blooming on the Plume!

    Cheers

    Alan
     
  22. tradesman

    tradesman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    my oppinion on the settings get a pic that suits all viewers and leave it the more things you have available for tweaking the more you are tempted to tweak you get so you can't make your mind up one way or th'other thats the beauty of owning such an adaptable screen
     
  23. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,983
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,667
    Thats because plasmas don't Bloom . I'm sure there is another pattern on DVE that would be suitable.Don't know if I can bring myself to dit through it again tho' :laugh:
    atb
    John
     
  24. domlof

    domlof
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Brentwood
    Ratings:
    +2
    As the Skybox allows you set the contrast as well as the panel, what do people have this set to?

    Has anybody played with setting this contrast high and the panels low and all the other combinations? Is there a best combination for this?

    Thanks

    Dom
     
  25. saintalan

    saintalan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +47
    Well, I have mentioned this a few times with no comment.

    When you change the settings the sky menu definitely changes, however whatever I set it too, it seems to make little difference on my Plasma whereas it did much more on my old CRT.

    I keep it set to MEDIUM.

    Cheers

    Alan
     

Share This Page

Loading...