Hitachi 42PD3000 Problem -Christmas advice please

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Terry Hughes, Dec 22, 2004.

  1. Terry Hughes

    Terry Hughes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I have a 42PD3000 which normally works great, until we turn it off, and straight back on. If we do this, the AV3000E MM box, clicks away, but doesn't select either an attached DVD, or SKY+ box, both switched on.
    42PD3000 works in test mode without AV3000E attached.

    From cold it works fine, and once on, stays on. Only goes wrong if we turn it off, change our minds, and turn it straight back on. Any advice please on:

    1. Whats wrong
    2. Where to get repaired.
    3. Service manual copy (AV3000E is my guess).
    4. Alternative to AV3000E

    Thanks and Merry Christmas... please help...
     
  2. Niraj

    Niraj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are the DVD and Sky+ connected via a SCART?? If they aren't then it won't automatically select them.

    What happens on the screen when you do the quick change of mind restart thing?

    Of course, you could also try:
    1) Not changing your mind so quickly
    2) Being a bit patient after changing your mind quickly

    That was just a bit of a laugh mate :):)

    Will try it out on mine to see if the same thing happens........

    Merry Xmas :smashin: :smashin:

    Niraj
     
  3. Terry Hughes

    Terry Hughes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the advice.

    Both on good quality scart cables, normally switch over when a device is powered up.

    Screen has normal waiting backlite appearance (powered but no picture).

    I am guessing a heat related issue. It's well vented.
     
  4. Terry Hughes

    Terry Hughes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone have a circuit diagram or service manual for an AV3000E?
     
  5. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,345
    Why, what use is it going to be to you.......are you a repair technician?
     
  6. Terry Hughes

    Terry Hughes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually an Engineer by trade although I don't practice it now.
    Do you know where I can find one?

    thanks, Terry
     
  7. hdeters

    hdeters
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, hi Terry,
    just registered after looking for a solution to exactly the problem Terry described. I own an 32PD3000E with an AV3000E.
    Is there any news Terry, what did you do?
    I bought my device 6 month ago, but unfortunately the dealer has closed.
    Any help is highly appreciated.
    Regards Hermann
     
  8. simon391088

    simon391088
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I bought a 42pd5300 a few months ago and had this problem. I sent it back and got a 42pd5200 instead.
    I spoke to Hitachi about the problem and it doesn't relate to one specific problem. When you switch it on it does some checks and if they fail it switches itself off and back on again. This can happen lots of time, so it might click away for minutes. The problem is normally (apparently) with the media box.
    If you bought it 6 months ago, I would suggest contacting Hitachi.
    HTH
    Simon
     
  9. hdeters

    hdeters
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Simon,
    thanks for your reply, yes I think I should contact Hitachi for this.
    Thanks again and
    regards Hermann
     
  10. Terry Hughes

    Terry Hughes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    In January my warranty ran out, took to long to find a solution and it cost me £280 to get the power supply replaced. This is what causes the switching problem to occur. Be warned I believe it was a design fault, but Hitachi didn't view it like that.
     
  11. poggs

    poggs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    Sorry for bringing this one up again! Does anyone know how to get the screen into this test mode. My TV has a flashing yellow light on the panel and a solid red light on the tuner box. Cant get the tv to power up so dont know whether its the box or the panel that gone. I have disconnected the tuner box but still get the flashing yellow light on the tv and it wont power up.

    Any ideas?
     
  12. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,345
    What's the model no of your TV? (Taken from the label on the rear)
     
  13. poggs

    poggs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    42pd3000E
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice