Hitachi 32PD5200 - RGB 1 or 2 input

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by scrofts007, Aug 15, 2006.

1. scrofts007

scrofts007

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all - newbie here, so go easy on me. Apologies for long first post!
    Have searched the web endlessly, but cannot seem to get a definite answer.

I bought a very cheap Hitachi 32PD5200 from ebay on the back of a dream - to watch the football whilst having Picture in Picture showing the cricket on the other channel.

It seems from my manual that the only way to get picture in picture operating is to use one of the RGB inputs (RGB1 - DVI or RGB2 - VGA) and then one of the other AV inputs (Probably AV4 - Scart) as the sub- picture.

I have both a freeview box and Sky (Not Sky+), but neither have a compatable output to connect to either of the RGB inputs.

Questions -
    The Hitachi website says :-
    Technical specifications

Connections

Connector RGB1 (digital)
    24-pin DVI (Dedicated to the connection of the AV3000E Multi-media box)
    Connector RGB2 (analogue)
    15 pin D-sub (Available on AV3000E Multi-media box)
    Control (RS232C)
    9 pin D-sub, RS232C 9600bps
    Audio for RGB1
    L/R mini-headphone jack
    Audio for RGB2
    L/R mini-headphone jack
    Computer Input
    RGB1
    15 pin D-sub (Available on AV3000E Multi-media box)

However reading their FAQ, they answered a readers query with :-

Can I connect the multimedia box from the xxPD5300 Plasma to my 32PD5200 Plasma?

The AVC3000e is designed for use with the xxPD3000 and xxPD5300 models only!

Which of the above is correct?