1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi 32pd5000 plasma range

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by fulllupo, Apr 23, 2004.

  1. fulllupo

    fulllupo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +24
    Ive read through alot of threads learning all about these screens, but i just wanted to quickly post a thread with my exact question on.

    I am planning to get one of the 32 inch pd5000 range but unsure which model to choose. I will be getting a home cinema,dvd and sky plus set up at the same time. Thereby i dont realy need the speakers or the tv tuner.

    Taking this into account, is there anything else im losing such as connection options etc if i was to buy just the basic screen (which i beleive is called either pd5000 or pd5100)?

    I read that it comes with a video board that i have to attach. Is this very simple to do for a novice? Are these connection as good as what are available on the pd5300 av box thingy? I.e 2 component inputs.

    Also as i wont have a seperate AV box, will i have to have all my wires from my dvd/home cinema/xbox/sky all going up the wall to the screen? This may prove expensive as i want 2 component leads and a good rgb scart, and the dvd etc may be a good few metres away from the plasma.

    Should i just get the pd5300 as they are pretty similar price and obviously has the advantage of having a sperate box to help with the wire issues etc. Any disadvantages of the avbox?

    Sorry about all of the questions but i dont wanna blow 2 grand on the wrong plasma.

    Thanks in advance everyone

    Paul
     
  2. fulllupo

    fulllupo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +24
  3. BiggieBig

    BiggieBig
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +16
    I don't think you are just the tuner,speakers and media box


    Have you considered your amp for doing some of your AV switching. Also as long as your not going for really long lengths I don't think there's a huge difference in cost for a couple of extra meteres.

    I believe these boxes aren't very good they will deteriorate your picture quality.
     
  4. fulllupo

    fulllupo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +24
    Thanks for the response Depsi.

    So assuming i got the 32pd5100 (2 component connections + rgb scart etc), and an amp that had 2 component connections, would this set up work?: ( see attached)

    Is it right that i should have to have an optical connection from xbox to amp, and also would i need to have an optical from sky+ to amp also to get surround?

    Is this the best possible way do this? There isnt any amps about with 3 component inputs is there?

    Also would i still get progressive scan assuming the dvd player i get supports it?

    Finnaly u said that the av box deterioates pic quality. Thanks for that, wont get that oe then. Does the internal tuner in the pd5200 deteriorate also?

    Thanks again
     

    Attached Files:

  5. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +11
    The Denon AVR-3805 has component 3 inputs.

    The Marantz SR-12S1 has 4 and the Yamaha DSP Z9 even has 6... However, both cost as much, if not more, than your plasma.

    Not quite sure why you'd need 3 inputs with the gear you've listed, as only the X-box and DVD player will have component (assuming you buy a component output player). Personally I'd route the component output from your source devices through the AV amp rather than having one directly connected and one going via the amp. Should mean fewer button presses to switch from one to the other.
     
  6. fulllupo

    fulllupo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +24
    Oh right, i was getting confused, thinking that i would be taking up a component input from the plasma to the amp. Forgot that it would be a component output, so i should still have 2 component inputs spare for the xbox and dvd, and an RGB scart for the sky+.

    Would i need to run an optical lead from xbox/sky + to the amp still or can the RGB scart/component carry audio 5.1 signal?

    Whats a good amp that can do this for me?Something like the Denon AVR2803? Going to spend probably bout 2k on the plasma, then maybe another £1000 on dvd/speakers and the amp. So i spose maybe a £500 max budget on the amp realy. Will this get me a half decent one?

    Did have my eye on the new samsung ht-ds1000 all in one system:

    http://www.samsung.com/DigitAll/Glo...n/ICES2004/ppk/HTDS1000/ppk_HTDS1000_over.htm

    But is isnt out yet, and also probably wont have enough connections to doing all the switching etc. Does have HDMI tho, but then i dont think the pd5000 plasma supports that, and i cant afford 3k + on the pioneer and 43" is too big for the room its going in.

    Finnaly, I havent seen the pd5100 advertised anywhere, so i dont know whether they are releasing this variation. WOuld getting the pd5200 make any difference to picture quality? AS mentioned earlier in this thread, the pd5300 AV box causes picture deterioration. The pd5000 doesnt have a video board so id assume i cant connect like that to this unit. I guess im getting inpatient so want to buy whats out now!
     
  7. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +11
    Yes, you'd still need optical cables to connect your X-box and Sky+ box.

    Most component video cables typically have only the 3 cables for the 3 component connectors. IIRC some more specialised component cables might have an RCA plug on both ends for the sync, and maybe an additional 2 (white & red) for stereo audio.

    SCART of any variety does not carry 5.1 audio (whether it could do is another matter - as I don't know what all the pins are for on a SCART plug, i couldn't tell you), and in any case, you could probably count on the figures of one hand the number of AV amps/receivers that have SCART inputs or outputs.

    £500 will probably buy you a more than good enough amp these days for multi-channel sound (that's just a qualifier before people start jumping up & down and saying that amp's/receivers at that price level aren't too hot on stereo. All I can say is that if that's an issue for you, make sure you demo amps with stereo & multi-channel audio)
     
  8. fulllupo

    fulllupo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +24
    Didnt realise that not many recievers have scart. Seems strange. Any suggestions on ones that do?

    Or should i just connect the sky straight to the plasma? RGB scart is the best connection for sky isnt it? PQ wise?

    This all seems way to complicated for me! Maybe i should just go for the pd5200 and get an all in one dvd/surround system
     
  9. fulllupo

    fulllupo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +24
    Update..

    Cheers for the responses guys. Heres my current plan:

    Hitachi 32pd5100 (if can find one)
    Sony STR-DB2000B Reciever
    Sony DVPN5930VSMR DVD Player
    Gale 30 series speaker package (3030 fronts 100w, 3050 centre 80w, 3060 bipolar rears 90w, 3080 sub 100w)

    DVD to reciever with component with progressive and 0optical.
    xbox to reciver via compoent hi def pack and optical
    Reciever to plasma via component
    Sky plus linked direct to plasma via RGB scart, and optical to reciever.

    Does this sound pretty good? Anything you would change?

    Will these products all go together ok and does that sound like the best way to set them up?

    Was thinking of upgrading to the pioneer 434 as it has hdmi, and also getting the pioneer hdmi dvd player, but its nearly double the price of the hitachi plasma and the dvd is a fair whack too, so think ill stick to something similar to this.

    Does everything sound about right? Think im just about ready to take the plunge. Should get it all for just over 3k i think. Bargain!

    Thanks in advance to everyone again.
     
  10. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +11
    Well that's how I would do it, although other people may prefer to do so differently.
     
  11. fulllupo

    fulllupo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +24
    Well you know more than me, so thats good enough!

    Thanks alot for your input

    Cheers
     
  12. fulllupo

    fulllupo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +24
    Final question ( I promise!); As i cant seem to find the 32pd5100 anywhere, and it isnt advertised on hitachi's site. I might end up getting either the 5200 or 5300. As Depsi said the av3000E box that comes with the 5300 might deteriorate picture quality, so is this not the case with the 5200? The 5200 has the video board and internal tuner, so in theory it should affect the quality compared to the 5100 then right?

    So basically buy getting the 5200, the only draw back is im paying for speakers and a tuner that i dont use, and the picture wuality will be exactly the same as the 5100?

    Thanks again guys
     
  13. jpd2

    jpd2
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Depsi

    Why do you believe the AV boxes deterioate the picture? Looking at the spec, it would appear the 5300 with box has several functions that the 5100 /5200 dont have eg, digital noise reduction etc.

    thanks

    John
     

Share This Page

Loading...