1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi 32LD7200- Connection Confusion

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by jmcardle, May 29, 2005.

  1. jmcardle

    jmcardle
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Finally had enough of pussy footing around and bit the bullet. Ordered at £1495 at John Lewis Edinburgh and delivered two days later. Compare that price with Unbeatable (with 5 year guarantee and delivery) and it beats it hands down. Anyway...

    The picture from DVD is awesome. Simply stunning (component connected). However, I cannot get sound to work from S-Video direct to the amp (Denon AVR 3802).

    Current set up is:

    32LD7200 connected via S-Video (AV5) direct to Denon AVR 3802 (not working)
    Sky box connected via S-video direct to Denon AVR 3802 (not working)
    32LD7200 connected to Panasonic DMR E85 DVD recorder via component (working superbly)
    Panasonic DMR E85 connected to Denon AVR 3802 via optical (excellent)

    Any thoughts? Or anyone got a connection diagram?

    Cheers
     
  2. domtheone

    domtheone
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    13,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +2,278
    I though S-Video was picture only :lesson:
     
  3. Puffer

    Puffer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    jmcardle

    You need separate audio leads when using S-Video connection .
     
  4. vtrnutter

    vtrnutter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    This connection is for video only. It does not deliver sound at all. You will need to connect audio leads to your TV, or preferably through AV amplifier.
     
  5. topman

    topman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it a Sky+ box , if so S-Video will do the picture , for the sound connect via an optical lead form the Sky box to the amp. This way you will enjoy Sky movies etc in dolby digital sound.
    You need to go to the sound setup in the Sky box menu and select dolby digital.
    I'm still waiting for my 7200 , but can't wait to try out HDMI output from a Denon 2910 dvd player. :thumbsup:
     
  6. jmcardle

    jmcardle
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Doh!!! :suicide:

    Lol - thanks for the info. Reckon I need to rtfm.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...