1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi 32LD7200- Component "Invalid Scan Freq"

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by StevePritchard, May 10, 2005.

  1. StevePritchard

    StevePritchard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I'm having problems with my new Hitachi 32LD7200. When I try to hook up a DVD player via component (I've tried two different players) I get an all out of sync picture flickering around, and the message "Invalid scan Freq" on screen (and sometimes mention of the fact that there is no sync).

    I'm using standard phono cables to make the connection at the moment (i.e. the yellow/white/red video/audioL+R cables - I've tried two sets) - do the component video cables have to be of a particularly high quality or anything?

    Is there a setting that I'm missing, or is it likely that my screen has a fault?

    Cheers,

    Steve.
     
  2. swanny78

    swanny78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Matlock
    Ratings:
    +58
    These are not the correct cables as the colurs are usually Red Green and Blue for component. Are you sure these are component cables and not composite ones? Component video does not have Red White audio either !

    You will need to buy component ones im afraid QED ones are very good
     
  3. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    i dont think he's using a scart to rca type lead?

    i think he means rca to rca type lead, colour means **** all, should still work??
     
  4. sgiorgi

    sgiorgi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had exactly the same problem at first. What I failed to do was to go into my dvd menu and turn on progressive scan (i have a philips dvp620). As soon as I did this it was fine.

    This may seem obvious to some but might be worth checking.
     
  5. VurtHed

    VurtHed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    Standard composite phono leads are usually not up to component signal requirements. You need 75Ω (ohm) cables.
     
  6. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    but surley you'd still get a picture, even if its a crappy one?
     
  7. StevePritchard

    StevePritchard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm hoping that VurtHed is right, and the cables aren't up to the job. Have ordered some 75 ohm cables, and hopefully that will do the trick.

    Cheers,

    Steve.
     
  8. VurtHed

    VurtHed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    Possibly - never tried it myself. The quality of the leads may not be the only factor, apologies if my post implied this. However, there is little point using component if not using the correct leads so the purchase would be required at some point.

    Are you sure the player is outputting component?
     

Share This Page

Loading...