1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitachi 28LD5200 + only 1 scart

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by max power, Apr 6, 2005.

1. max power

max power
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Everyone,

I'm a complete novice to this whole interconnection malarkey and want some advice.
    I have always connected everything (Home Cinema, Sky) to my TV via the scart sockets.
    I am thinking of buying the Hitachi 28LD5200 but have noticed that it only has 1 scart connection. (plus s-video, component etc etc)
    My Home Cinema system has s-video (currently to scart) out so I suppose that I can connect to the tv via this but will this cause a lack of screen quality..?
    Or should I bite the bullet and by a new Home Cinema set up which has the component video option..?

Confused..? Understatement of the year..!!!

2. flangemonkey

flangemonkey

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +17
    You should really use RGB SCART as a minimum for decent picture quality.

Can you switch your Home Cinema system to output RGB over the SCART, this will be preferable to S-Video, certainly.

Other than that, yes, get a DVD player that can output component (there are lots of sub-£50 machines around). This (for the moment at least) will give you the best picture quality out of the Hitachi..

3. Taz69

Taz69

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +55