1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hiss with winamp.

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by JohnS, Nov 20, 2003.

  1. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    If you've seen my earlier thread about the hissing problem that I was having with my shiny new RME PST and how I eventually decided it must be faulty because the same symptons appeared on both an old via chipset board and my new Asus P8P.

    RME agreed and sent me a new card.

    I stuck it in this afternoon and.....exactly the same.:confused: Played some .wavs back thorugh winamp and the hissing noise was still there. Put a cd in and I cant get anything from winamp other than the song list. No sounds (I'm new to winamp).

    Thought I'd try win media player for the cd and not only did I have sound but the hissing had disappeared. Encouraged I then tried my ripped .wavs and they sound great too.

    Obviously this RME card (and probably the one I've sent back too:blush: ) is okay but why does it sound so bad in winamp and why dont I get cd direct sound?
     
  2. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Hi John, did you disable directsound in Winamp?
     
  3. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hi Jeff

    No:blush:

    Whats that and where is it?

    Cheers
     
  4. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    YOU NEED TO !!!!!!!!!!! :D

    Its in Options , preferences, audio, directshow (Winamp3)
     
  5. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Well that sorted the mp3 and wav playback thanks, any ideas why I cant play straight off of a CD? I do have the internal digital connection made if that matters.
     
  6. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Remove the internal digital connection because you don't want or need that, then enable digital CD audio in the device manager properties for the DVD/CD rom.
     

Share This Page

Loading...