hilarious diy electrics

Discussion in 'General Tech & Gadget Forums' started by missgee, Aug 7, 2017.

Tags:
  1. missgee

    missgee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +9
    I saw this in a house this week, utterly unfathomable. ( Yes the socket works when plugged in).
    20170801_211802.jpg
     
    • Funny Funny x 8
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  2. outoftheknow

    outoftheknow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,385
    I'm going to go against the grain here and at least acknowledge that whoever did it made sure they don't run an electric cable horizontally under plaster without any conduit.

    Yes they clearly have no idea what to do but it is at least visibly 'safe'

    Still hilarious though - don't get me wrong :)
     
  3. anticlaus105

    anticlaus105
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +157
    I had a similar thing in the house I moved into, with the extra socket mounted in a bedside cabinet. Needless to say it's gone now.
     
  4. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    24,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +9,760
    Wha?
     
  5. noiseboy72

    noiseboy72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,682
    Ha! , yes I would also imagine that there used to be a cabinet or similar in front of the socket at some point.

    I would question if the cable was thick enough. It only looks like 0.75 or 1mm, so probably not really suitable for a 3KW load.
     
  6. ChrisNic

    ChrisNic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Thame
    Ratings:
    +139
    Had exactly the same setup in my house when we moved in.

    On reflection though how is it much different from a fused spur off a socket??
     
  7. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    24,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +9,760
    1. Not fused
    2. Current rating is too low
    3. Cable is exposed
     
  8. ChrisNic

    ChrisNic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Thame
    Ratings:
    +139
    Fuse in the plug though surely (I'm not for a second saying it's sensible)?
     
  9. Johnytuono

    Johnytuono
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Nothing at all wrong with that....seen it done loads of times...
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice