Higrade xtreme 1800

P

Peachy

Hi all, newbie here.

First off fantastic community, I was looking into the elonex artisan and this forum is by far the best source of info about it.

Yesterday I read nearly all of the "how good is the artisan thread" (took a long time). I also noticed that there was a lot of discussion about the hi grade dms II. I think both machines are tempting but during the topic I stumbled upon the hi grades xtreme models. I was wondering why the hi grade xtreme 1800 isnt generating similar interest. I know its larger but IMHO its still small enough to get under the telly. It also has dual digital cards, by all accounts its pretty quiet (although ive only found one review), it has 2x200gb hard drive, gig of ram and a good graphic card. Its important for me that it doubles up as a a pretty good PC. So why is no one interested? Have I missed something. I nearly got the credit card out but hi grades site is down. Now the impulse has gone, I thought it would be a good chance to gather some of this forum's users thoughts.

Anyone got any thoughts - Pros - Cons (presumbaly cost?)

Thanks

Peachy

Rambles

Distinguished Member
Build your own? :)

Last edited:

Bl4ckGryph0n

Distinguished Member
I ended up building my own so I can have ultimate control over the components. But there is something to be said for buying a ready made one as you know the components work together or you have some come-back...

When building my own I also came across this outfit (http://www.u-sm.com) and bought some parts. But they do some better looking and specced (imho) home theatre pc's than the likes of hi-grade...Don't know about after-sales support as I didn't need it, but pre-sales is pretty good....Just another option...

S

Skunkpipe

meansizzler said:
Not that much less, remeber that them manufacturers buy in bulk so get parts way cheaper than any of us a get it...
it ain't that much cheaper....

Rambles

Distinguished Member
dejongj said: