1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

highest quality picture for £500 budget

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by William Wizz, Aug 26, 2005.

1. William Wizz

William Wizz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm a complete newbie to camcorders (apart for messing about with my friend's in order to film a 2 minute long horror movie set in a kitchen starring a pig's heart from the butchers). After some experimental animation and script writing I'm looking to shoot an amateur film or two (nothing big, just for fun).

I'm looking for a camera that will produce the highest quality picture as close to dvd quality as possible. I've got a £500 budget (ruffly) and picture quality is my top priority. being able to edit the footage on my computer would also be helpful.

If anyone could help point out some camcorders for me I would be very, very grateful thanks a lot.

2. Roy Mallard

Roy Mallard

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    panasonics are really the best way to go for absolute image quality.

3. melliott1963

melliott1963

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    I think you'll find that most, if not all MiniDV Digital Camcorders these days will actually give you better than DVD quality. By it's very nature, DVD will never be as good as raw footage shot on a camcorder - 1 Hour = 14GB raw footage or 4.7GB DVD

4. William Wizz

William Wizz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks I didn't know any of that.

So if I uploaded some footage from a MiniDV Digital camcorder to my PC and burnt it to dvd would it look dvd quality?
    Also what other specifications do I have to take into consideration to get a good quality picture? I've been told about sensors (or something like that) that adjust to different lights and colours.