High Quality Mains Cables?.

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Hysteria, Jun 9, 2004.

  1. Hysteria

    Hysteria
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there achauly any point in spending £40 on a mains cable?.
     
  2. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    No, for less than a tenner you can make your own that's probably better. If you can cope with wiring a plug of course ;)
     
  3. Hysteria

    Hysteria
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah cool, Will there be any benefits from a decent cable?.
     
  4. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    I've got one of these connected to my sub:
    http://imageevent.com/sidandcoke/sidsposhpowercord (not my site)!

    It's lowered the noise floor a bit but I've not noticed any other significant benefits. There's a good sticky at the top of this forum about DIY mains cables, also look through www.tnt-audio.com for help. Even just getting a thicker bit of cable and some plugs will make the cable look nicer than a kettle plug ;)
     
  5. Hysteria

    Hysteria
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Prob is my reciever has got a fixed cable, i'll have to do some modding. It's just an awful lot of work so i was just making sure it's worth it before i mod it.
     
  6. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    If it's a fixed cable I wouldn't bother. At least, I havn't with my equipment that has fixed cables.

    Up to you though ;)
     
  7. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    what is the deal on a decent cable for mains use these days? Im a bit out of the loop having given up when I couldnt come up with something adequate in place of the pirelli double shielded

    ad
     
  8. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,959
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,671
    It's going to depend very much on what equipment you have,and it's price level.....by that I mean that a number of amplifiers are relatively independent of cable design etc,esp those with regulated or regenerative power supplies,and as for price level,if you have a relatively low cost amp,I certainly wouldn't spend a lot on expensive mains cables for it.....at the upper end of the scale,good quality cables can make an enormous difference to sound quality,as can a decent ring main or spur....but that's another matter entirely!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice